close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Polls

Polls These will all be Admin initiated polls.

View Poll Results: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Yes, of course! 1,091 46.66%
No, I don't shoot over 300 yards. 255 10.91%
No, but I really should use one. 992 42.43%
Voters: 2338. You may not vote on this poll

Reply

Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #120  
Unread 07-08-2012, 11:59 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Prineville Oregon
Posts: 417
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomestone View Post
I was just using it to check for operator error,now I can do math.Thanks
Wow! I guess we can all fire up the computer and figure out the exact amount of Cant to correct for on this Elk shot. Now where did that Big Bull go?
Reply With Quote
  •   #121  
    Unread 12-11-2012, 07:40 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2007
    Location: Dallas,OR
    Posts: 403
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Yep
    __________________
    AKA "BLACKTAIL SNIPER"
    7LRM smithed by Gunwerks
    Stiller TAC 300
    Broughton fluted 5.75, 5c @ 28"
    Graphite Black Cerakote
    Jewell Trigger
    GreyBull Precision Stock
    180VLD's@3145fps. with 72.8grs. of H1000, 215m primer
    Reply With Quote

      #122  
    Unread 12-11-2012, 09:17 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2011
    Location: Prineville Oregon
    Posts: 417
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Moombaskjer,

    Good, I shoot with one on my 7mm. It's part of my
    shot sequence. I'm just finishing up my Marlin 223 X7VH. changed out
    the synthectic (plastic) stock for a walnut wood stock. Bedded with pillars
    and floating barrel.

    Shot it today, with a 4 shot group of .79" @ 100 yds and a 1" group
    @ 200 yds. Hornady V-Max 55 gr, pushed by 23.3 gr of H4895.

    I haven't put on a level yet but it's next on the list.
    Reply With Quote
      #123  
    Unread 12-16-2012, 02:13 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2011
    Location: Oregon
    Posts: 224
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Have them on every rifle owned. Used to use Vortex models that mounted on the scope. Now use the type that mount to the scope rail. I find that the ones that mount on the rail actually make is easier to mount the scope reticle vertical to the rifle. I reload and tweak things a lot, always working for better accuracy. I feel the levels help eliminate a possible variable when testing how a particular bullet seating depth ect. affects accuracy.
    Reply With Quote
      #124  
    Unread 12-16-2012, 03:19 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2011
    Location: Prineville Oregon
    Posts: 417
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    I mount my level on the rail also. Of course I check to make sure the rail
    is level as well.
    Reply With Quote
      #125  
    Unread 01-21-2013, 11:30 AM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Green River, Wyoming
    Posts: 536
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    I've used one for about a year on a 6x47 Lapua, and now it annoys me that I don't have one on every one of my other guns! Call me OCD i guess...

    Another factor... I've always made sure to buy bipods with a swiveling head to make leveling your rifle easier.
    __________________
    -Clint



    -The flexibility of your adaptability is the true measure of your intelligence-
    Reply With Quote
      #126  
    Unread 01-21-2013, 02:16 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2011
    Location: Prineville Oregon
    Posts: 417
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    CB11WYO,

    Since I mount my level on my sight mount rails and the mounts are level across
    the barrel. I can use the level on any of my rifles with a scope.



    There's nothing better than practice, practice and more practice.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Flatline Ops. Inc. ACCU/LEVEL Scope Level Review ADMIN Product Reviews - Discussion 33 04-12-2015 03:10 AM
    gun, scope, bubble level .. dont look level?? bigsal5353 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 11-08-2012 08:58 PM
    scope/rifle level TxAggie94 The Basics, Starting Out 3 09-08-2008 06:06 PM
    Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Other Stuff For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:12 PM
    Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Optics For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:11 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC