close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Polls

Polls These will all be Admin initiated polls.

View Poll Results: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Yes, of course! 1,091 46.66%
No, I don't shoot over 300 yards. 255 10.91%
No, but I really should use one. 992 42.43%
Voters: 2338. You may not vote on this poll

Reply

Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #106  
Unread 05-31-2012, 08:04 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Townsend, Montana.
Posts: 8,548
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

I think the latest discussion on this topic greatly depends on a few factors that vary from what one shooter might be thinking to another. They are distance, if you are dialing turrets and if you will be shooting prone while hunting with every place you take a shot from being different terrain. If am taking a 800 yard shot, dialed up 14 moa and prone on a hillside, the level just became a very needed tool for my best attempt at a good first round shot placement.
I understand muscle memory but you can not be consistant when you shoot from different shooting positions all the time evenif they are all prone shots. In the terrain I hunt in mountains the reticle never looks level to the sight picture even when the level says it is. At 400 yards not a big deal, at 1000, I insist on a level.
Jeff
__________________
Reply With Quote
  •   #107  
    Unread 05-31-2012, 10:07 AM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2011
    Location: Prineville Oregon
    Posts: 417
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    I agree. Well said.
    Reply With Quote

      #108  
    Unread 07-07-2012, 07:49 AM
    PUBLISHER
     
    Join Date: May 2001
    Posts: 6,515
    This is a long thread and I don't remember if the following has been stated, maybe even by me.

    Approximate with a very flat shooting rifle:



    If you cant your rifle 6 degrees, similar to one minute on the face of a clock, you introduce 12 inches of horizontal error at 700 yards. If my math is wrong feel free to correct.
    __________________
    - -
    Long Range Rifles, LLC - Ready To Ship

    .
    Reply With Quote
      #109  
    Unread 07-07-2012, 08:10 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: May 2012
    Posts: 4,132
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Len Backus View Post
    This is a long thread and I don't remember if the following has been stated, maybe even by me.

    Approximate with a very flat shooting rifle:



    If you cant your rifle 6 degrees, similar to one minute on the face of a clock, you introduce 12 inches of horizontal error at 700 yards. If my math is wrong feel free to correct.
    There are many variances here. Degree of cant, scope height above bore, range scope is zero'd at. There really isn't a way to go beyond rule of thumb on this and say you WILL have x amount of drift for 1 degree cant.
    I still don't use a level as I spot and stalk and usually shoot within a couple of seconds from sitting when I see a target. I don't use a high mount or sight for extreme range, as with what I shoot I can zero at 250 and hold higher as far out as I'd want to drag a critter.
    Reply With Quote
      #110  
    Unread 07-07-2012, 08:19 AM
    PUBLISHER
     
    Join Date: May 2001
    Posts: 6,515
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Quote:
    Approximate
    ....
    __________________
    - -
    Long Range Rifles, LLC - Ready To Ship

    .
    Reply With Quote
      #111  
    Unread 07-07-2012, 09:05 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2007
    Location: Townsend, Montana.
    Posts: 8,548
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Lefty7mmstw View Post
    I still don't use a level as I spot and stalk and usually shoot within a couple of seconds from sitting when I see a target. I don't use a high mount or sight for extreme range, as with what I shoot I can zero at 250 and hold higher as far out as I'd want to drag a critter.

    In my opinion this is not long range hunting / shooting. If you were to crank up your turret for a long shot out there at 800 or 1000 and was to induce the 1 degree cant that Len is talking about you would see the levels are needed. That simple. For stalking in tight areas and a 200 to 300 yards shot, then no you don't need one. The levels are for long range and very necessary.

    Jeff
    __________________
    Reply With Quote
      #112  
    Unread 07-07-2012, 09:09 AM
    PUBLISHER
     
    Join Date: May 2001
    Posts: 6,515
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Broz, I think you meant 6 degrees, same as one minute on the clock.
    __________________
    - -
    Long Range Rifles, LLC - Ready To Ship

    .
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Flatline Ops. Inc. ACCU/LEVEL Scope Level Review ADMIN Product Reviews - Discussion 33 04-12-2015 03:10 AM
    gun, scope, bubble level .. dont look level?? bigsal5353 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 11-08-2012 08:58 PM
    scope/rifle level TxAggie94 The Basics, Starting Out 3 09-08-2008 06:06 PM
    Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Other Stuff For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:12 PM
    Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Optics For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:11 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC