Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Polls

Polls These will all be Admin initiated polls.


View Poll Results: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Yes, of course! 927 45.18%
No, I don't shoot over 300 yards. 238 11.60%
No, but I really should use one. 887 43.23%
Voters: 2052. You may not vote on this poll

Reply

Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #106  
Old 05-31-2012, 08:04 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Townsend, Montana.
Posts: 7,934
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

I think the latest discussion on this topic greatly depends on a few factors that vary from what one shooter might be thinking to another. They are distance, if you are dialing turrets and if you will be shooting prone while hunting with every place you take a shot from being different terrain. If am taking a 800 yard shot, dialed up 14 moa and prone on a hillside, the level just became a very needed tool for my best attempt at a good first round shot placement.
I understand muscle memory but you can not be consistant when you shoot from different shooting positions all the time evenif they are all prone shots. In the terrain I hunt in mountains the reticle never looks level to the sight picture even when the level says it is. At 400 yards not a big deal, at 1000, I insist on a level.
Jeff
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 05-31-2012, 10:07 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Prineville Oregon
Posts: 397
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

I agree. Well said.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 07-07-2012, 07:49 AM
PUBLISHER
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,944
This is a long thread and I don't remember if the following has been stated, maybe even by me.

Approximate with a very flat shooting rifle:



If you cant your rifle 6 degrees, similar to one minute on the face of a clock, you introduce 12 inches of horizontal error at 700 yards. If my math is wrong feel free to correct.
__________________


Long Range Rifles, LLC - Ready To Ship

Components and assembly by LRH Sponsors
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 07-07-2012, 08:10 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: N.D.
Posts: 3,127
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Len Backus View Post
This is a long thread and I don't remember if the following has been stated, maybe even by me.

Approximate with a very flat shooting rifle:



If you cant your rifle 6 degrees, similar to one minute on the face of a clock, you introduce 12 inches of horizontal error at 700 yards. If my math is wrong feel free to correct.
There are many variances here. Degree of cant, scope height above bore, range scope is zero'd at. There really isn't a way to go beyond rule of thumb on this and say you WILL have x amount of drift for 1 degree cant.
I still don't use a level as I spot and stalk and usually shoot within a couple of seconds from sitting when I see a target. I don't use a high mount or sight for extreme range, as with what I shoot I can zero at 250 and hold higher as far out as I'd want to drag a critter.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 07-07-2012, 08:19 AM
PUBLISHER
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,944
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Approximate
....
__________________


Long Range Rifles, LLC - Ready To Ship

Components and assembly by LRH Sponsors
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 07-07-2012, 09:05 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Townsend, Montana.
Posts: 7,934
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lefty7mmstw View Post
I still don't use a level as I spot and stalk and usually shoot within a couple of seconds from sitting when I see a target. I don't use a high mount or sight for extreme range, as with what I shoot I can zero at 250 and hold higher as far out as I'd want to drag a critter.

In my opinion this is not long range hunting / shooting. If you were to crank up your turret for a long shot out there at 800 or 1000 and was to induce the 1 degree cant that Len is talking about you would see the levels are needed. That simple. For stalking in tight areas and a 200 to 300 yards shot, then no you don't need one. The levels are for long range and very necessary.

Jeff
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 07-07-2012, 09:09 AM
PUBLISHER
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,944
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Broz, I think you meant 6 degrees, same as one minute on the clock.
__________________


Long Range Rifles, LLC - Ready To Ship

Components and assembly by LRH Sponsors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gun, scope, bubble level .. dont look level?? bigsal5353 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 11-08-2012 08:58 PM
Flatline Ops. Inc. ACCU/LEVEL Scope Level Review ADMIN Product Reviews - Discussion 32 08-27-2011 04:27 PM
scope/rifle level TxAggie94 The Basics, Starting Out 3 09-08-2008 06:06 PM
Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Other Stuff For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:12 PM
Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Optics For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC