close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Polls

Polls These will all be Admin initiated polls.

View Poll Results: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Yes, of course! 1,092 46.69%
No, I don't shoot over 300 yards. 255 10.90%
No, but I really should use one. 992 42.41%
Voters: 2339. You may not vote on this poll

Reply

Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #85  
Unread 04-17-2012, 01:51 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Prineville Oregon
Posts: 417
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by startrek1761d View Post
Wouldn't the error at 1000 yards be greater the higher the scope is above the boreline?
Standard factory loads, 200 yds is 0. beyond that is minus. so it's obvious that
scope adjustment up past bore line is subject to error.

As is every time the trigger is pulled. That's where the fun begins.

Practice, Practice, Practice.
Reply With Quote
  •   #86  
    Unread 04-17-2012, 11:50 PM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2012
    Location: Albany, OR
    Posts: 31
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Where is the the option "NO"?
    Reply With Quote

      #87  
    Unread 04-18-2012, 09:06 AM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2011
    Location: Prineville Oregon
    Posts: 417
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    There are few manditory obligations within this sport. Use of a level isn't one of them. Choices are beautiful things, you can either do them or not.
    Reply With Quote
      #88  
    Unread 05-02-2012, 01:46 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2007
    Location: Townsend, Montana.
    Posts: 8,547
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by 1Hunter View Post
    There are few manditory obligations within this sport. Use of a level isn't one of them. Choices are beautiful things, you can either do them or not.

    This depends on your method of shooting and what is considered long range. If a shooter is dialing up turrets to correct for drop and shots are past 600 yards it almost becomes manditory at this point. Sure a shooter can go by what looks square in the scope, but I have seen this method of guessing be way off in an unlevel situation. But, I guess you are correct, it is still a choice.

    Jeff
    __________________
    Reply With Quote
      #89  
    Unread 05-02-2012, 05:32 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2011
    Location: Prineville Oregon
    Posts: 417
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Broz View Post
    This depends on your method of shooting and what is considered long range. If a shooter is dialing up turrets to correct for drop and shots are past 600 yards it almost becomes manditory at this point. Sure a shooter can go by what looks square in the scope, but I have seen this method of guessing be way off in an unlevel situation. But, I guess you are correct, it is still a choice.

    Jeff
    Thank you! We are still a nation of choices.

    However you won't see a bow or rifle of mine not equiped with a level.
    (The only bows I own without a level are my stick bows.)

    Those are my choices. Shooting a bow any distance beyond 30 yards
    is asking for an arrow off center. Even a slight cant of the bow rignt or left
    will be an arrow off the spot. I learned quickly that while wearing a shooting
    vest and light jacked that the rifle stock tended to settle on a cant more than
    straight up and down. A $10 dollar rail mounted level solved that problem
    real quick.

    I imagine that if you use a rifle scope there may have been two or three
    levels involved in the installation alone.

    Practice, Practicd, Practice.
    Reply With Quote
      #90  
    Unread 05-03-2012, 05:42 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2007
    Location: Townsend, Montana.
    Posts: 8,547
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by 1Hunter View Post
    Thank you! We are still a nation of choices.

    However you won't see a bow or rifle of mine not equiped with a level.
    (The only bows I own without a level are my stick bows.)

    Those are my choices. Shooting a bow any distance beyond 30 yards
    is asking for an arrow off center. Even a slight cant of the bow rignt or left
    will be an arrow off the spot. I learned quickly that while wearing a shooting
    vest and light jacked that the rifle stock tended to settle on a cant more than
    straight up and down. A $10 dollar rail mounted level solved that problem
    real quick.

    I imagine that if you use a rifle scope there may have been two or three
    levels involved in the installation alone.

    Practice, Practicd, Practice.
    1 Hunter, I misunderstood your first post to say you didn't use a level. Sorry my mistake. We are in complete agreeance.

    Thanks
    Jeff
    __________________
    Reply With Quote
      #91  
    Unread 05-19-2012, 04:07 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Location: NORTHEAST PA.
    Posts: 256
    Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

    SPAM!!!!!
    __________________
    ...that's what i like about toe tags; one size fits all...
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Flatline Ops. Inc. ACCU/LEVEL Scope Level Review ADMIN Product Reviews - Discussion 33 04-12-2015 03:10 AM
    gun, scope, bubble level .. dont look level?? bigsal5353 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 11-08-2012 08:58 PM
    scope/rifle level TxAggie94 The Basics, Starting Out 3 09-08-2008 06:06 PM
    Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Other Stuff For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:12 PM
    Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Optics For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:11 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC