Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Polls

Polls These will all be Admin initiated polls.


View Poll Results: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Yes, of course! 926 45.15%
No, I don't shoot over 300 yards. 238 11.60%
No, but I really should use one. 887 43.25%
Voters: 2051. You may not vote on this poll

Reply

Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #85  
Old 04-17-2012, 01:51 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Prineville Oregon
Posts: 397
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by startrek1761d View Post
Wouldn't the error at 1000 yards be greater the higher the scope is above the boreline?
Standard factory loads, 200 yds is 0. beyond that is minus. so it's obvious that
scope adjustment up past bore line is subject to error.

As is every time the trigger is pulled. That's where the fun begins.

Practice, Practice, Practice.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 04-17-2012, 11:50 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Albany, OR
Posts: 31
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Where is the the option "NO"?
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 04-18-2012, 09:06 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Prineville Oregon
Posts: 397
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

There are few manditory obligations within this sport. Use of a level isn't one of them. Choices are beautiful things, you can either do them or not.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 05-02-2012, 01:46 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Townsend, Montana.
Posts: 7,900
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Hunter View Post
There are few manditory obligations within this sport. Use of a level isn't one of them. Choices are beautiful things, you can either do them or not.

This depends on your method of shooting and what is considered long range. If a shooter is dialing up turrets to correct for drop and shots are past 600 yards it almost becomes manditory at this point. Sure a shooter can go by what looks square in the scope, but I have seen this method of guessing be way off in an unlevel situation. But, I guess you are correct, it is still a choice.

Jeff
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 05-02-2012, 05:32 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Prineville Oregon
Posts: 397
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broz View Post
This depends on your method of shooting and what is considered long range. If a shooter is dialing up turrets to correct for drop and shots are past 600 yards it almost becomes manditory at this point. Sure a shooter can go by what looks square in the scope, but I have seen this method of guessing be way off in an unlevel situation. But, I guess you are correct, it is still a choice.

Jeff
Thank you! We are still a nation of choices.

However you won't see a bow or rifle of mine not equiped with a level.
(The only bows I own without a level are my stick bows.)

Those are my choices. Shooting a bow any distance beyond 30 yards
is asking for an arrow off center. Even a slight cant of the bow rignt or left
will be an arrow off the spot. I learned quickly that while wearing a shooting
vest and light jacked that the rifle stock tended to settle on a cant more than
straight up and down. A $10 dollar rail mounted level solved that problem
real quick.

I imagine that if you use a rifle scope there may have been two or three
levels involved in the installation alone.

Practice, Practicd, Practice.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 05-03-2012, 05:42 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Townsend, Montana.
Posts: 7,900
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Hunter View Post
Thank you! We are still a nation of choices.

However you won't see a bow or rifle of mine not equiped with a level.
(The only bows I own without a level are my stick bows.)

Those are my choices. Shooting a bow any distance beyond 30 yards
is asking for an arrow off center. Even a slight cant of the bow rignt or left
will be an arrow off the spot. I learned quickly that while wearing a shooting
vest and light jacked that the rifle stock tended to settle on a cant more than
straight up and down. A $10 dollar rail mounted level solved that problem
real quick.

I imagine that if you use a rifle scope there may have been two or three
levels involved in the installation alone.

Practice, Practicd, Practice.
1 Hunter, I misunderstood your first post to say you didn't use a level. Sorry my mistake. We are in complete agreeance.

Thanks
Jeff
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 05-19-2012, 04:07 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NORTHEAST PA.
Posts: 227
Re: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?

SPAM!!!!!
__________________
...that's what i like about toe tags; one size fits all...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Do you use a scope level to keep your rifle level?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gun, scope, bubble level .. dont look level?? bigsal5353 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 11-08-2012 08:58 PM
Flatline Ops. Inc. ACCU/LEVEL Scope Level Review ADMIN Product Reviews - Discussion 32 08-27-2011 04:27 PM
scope/rifle level TxAggie94 The Basics, Starting Out 3 09-08-2008 06:06 PM
Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Other Stuff For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:12 PM
Wheeler Level-level-level $18 shipped SPF sambo3006 Optics For Sale 1 01-27-2008 05:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC