Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing


Reply

Scope mount problem

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Old 01-27-2008, 10:33 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Southern Wisconsin
Posts: 1,307
VH

Brownells has some that you'll need to cut to length. Not sure if they are what you need but here is the link. LONG 6-48 & 8-40 SCREWS at Brownells

Chris
__________________
Ignorance can be treated with education, sadly there is no cure for stupidity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-27-2008, 12:24 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,856
If the recoil of your weapon or your abuse on the weapon calls for the screws being upgraded to 8-40 you had better have one bad ass scope cause I sure that the optic will fail well before the screws do.

The 8-40 screw are gonna have bigger heads than the hole in the base was desgined for so you have two options 1-make the hole bigger 2-make the screw head smaller. Brownell's offers an 8-40 scew that uses the T-15 size torx head wich it better for that screw size because the T-20 wrench will snap off the screw , where the T-15 will snap off the tip of the wrench and keep you from a major head ache. The 8-40 heads are bigger though they have to have wider heads so that they will have the proper bearing surface in relation to the bigger hole so your best bet would be to have the scope base holes reamed to fit.

check here : SIGHT SCREW COUNTERBORE at Brownells

they are expensive little tools. if you need a square bottom hole you can use a 1/4" carbide 4 flute end mill to make the counterbore , BUT , you have to make sure that the base is dead center of the hole and held very rigid before you try to sink the mill into it , and use the shortest mill you can find so that it won't walk on you.
__________________
Si Vis Pacem Parabellum
Molon Labe
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-27-2008, 12:45 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,124
Thanks for everyone's input. Not sure which way I'll go just yet.

I'm a little annoyed by all of this because this problem should not exist in the first place. I may just have a base custom made.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Scope mount problem
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to mount scope in QD mount rjackh AR15/10 Rifles 1 09-08-2011 03:14 PM
WTT? SAI M1a with SEI steel scope mount and Vortex Viper scope. mtbikerwvu Guns For Sale 3 06-22-2011 02:32 AM
NO. 1 scope mount? RFears Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 01-03-2010 12:39 PM
Savage FP10 Mount Problem benzh Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 3 04-13-2003 07:39 AM
F/S A.R.M.S #18 scope mount bones Guns For Sale 0 04-18-2002 05:17 PM

Current Poll
Are you on Facebook?
Yes - 46.39%
1,117 Vote
No - 19.52%
470 Votes
No, but I may join - 1.79%
43 Votes
No way, are you kidding? - 36.05%
868 Votes
Total Votes: 2,408
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC