Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

Savage Bolt

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2008, 01:36 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Savage Bolt

James Jones gave you the best directions.

AJ Peacock gave you the best advice.

If your going to own and work on a savage. $12 membership will be money well spent. It works out to less than pennies an hour spent there for me.

I'm an engineer too. Savages fuel my tinkering fire.
Old 09-12-2008, 01:48 PM
Platinum Member

MachV be nice , he was just miss directed at a young age and diden't relize what he was doing

Just jerking your chain , I just came off the roof of our VAB with an engineer who wants us to install a 100hp motor up their today even though the wind is blowing a steady 50 mph and gust to 70 !! he just coulden't understand what was so unsafe about working on top of a 240 foot building in those winds so WE took a walk and now he understands

The headspace on the savage is adjusted via the barrel nut , it can be done with a headspace guage by threading the barrel on partly , inserting the Go Guage and closing the bolt ,then screw the barrel down til it contacts the guage , then tighten the barrel nut. When I do it I use a fired case than has been FL sized in my die and filled with epoxy so its solid , I use that as a guage and it sets the chamber for min haedspace for you dies.
Old 09-12-2008, 02:12 PM
Platinum Member

I was being nice James;) Nuthin personal with Cruisin just aint got much time for most engineers!
If you use a resized case(Go Gauge) its a good idea to double check the headspace...Put two pieces of scotch on over the base(No-Go gauge) and try to chamber it again= The bolt should not close!!
Old 09-12-2008, 03:48 PM
Silver Member

Thanks again guys that is all I needed. I truely appreciate your advice. I might sign up as well for the sss website but as of right now that was all the info I needed.