Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

question to gunsmiths and custom gun owners

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2011, 10:33 PM

question to gunsmiths and custom gun owners

first off, let me preface this by saying this is my first time having a custom gun built or dealt with a custom gun builder. so my question comes from ignorance.

ok, i am in the process of having a custom gun built. the rifle was quoted to be finished in middle may. i called the gunsmith around that time and he said the gun would take him another month. i told him to pad his estimate in his favor so i don't get my hopes up. he told me the month time frame was padding his estimate and he will let me know around 6/15/11 for payment details. upon no call on the 15th, i called the next day and left a message on the answering machine. no return call. i have been calling everyday since (no weekend calls) during morning, afternoon and evening with no return calls. today i sent an email and multiple calls as well. my question is how should i proceed from here on out. i understand it takes time to construct a quality rifle, but as far as time frame, tell me what i need to know not what i want to hear. if the rifle isn't going to be done until 2012, tell me that so i can prepare to deer hunt with another rifle.
this gunsmith already has a brand new rem 700 i bought to use the action from and the lilja barrel i purchased and had shipped to his business.
i'm not thinking extreme like sending the cops, i just want to know what would be an appropriate plan to handle the situation at this point. thanks in advance.
Old 06-22-2011, 10:57 PM
Platinum Member

Re: question to gunsmiths and custom gun owners