Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

Lowering "RECOIL" for hunting & Shooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2012, 06:57 AM

Lowering "RECOIL" for hunting & Shooting

I'm new to the forms, I posted in the Long range rifles to get some advice, and got lots of great opinions. Diriel said I should check in here to see if any of you Gunsmiths can help me now that I know what cal I need to get. I'm kinda down to 2 guns now but need to see which one will will be the best for me and at what cost. Also, What would the price be for either one completed, and which will be the lowest recoiling and what would the difference be between them in recoil vs cost difference... I need it "Very-accurate" at 800Yards... I'm looking at the Savage-Long-Range Hunter in 300WM or the Savage 110BA in 300WM. I have been told that the 110BA has the recoil of just under a 243. (But I don't know what that feels like as I never shot a 243. before.) So, What I need to know is, as I have very bad shoulders, How low of recoil can we get these guns without spending a Bazillion dollars... I'm Handicapped and on very low income.. I only have around $2,000. to spend on the gun as the scope is about another $1,000 or more. (Burris-Eliminator 3) I can get the 110BA for around $1800. and it comes with a 35% muzzle Brake, or the L.R.Hunter for around $780. Don't think that has M.Brake on it. So, maybe one of you can get them for less? And then figure out how to get the recoil very low and mount the scope and fit it to me? Any help would be very much appreciated!!
Old 12-15-2012, 05:27 AM
Platinum Member

Re: Lowering "RECOIL" for hunting & Shooting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Debo View Post