Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

Just a warning

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2008, 10:32 PM
Platinum Member

Just a warning

to you guys. I just got my new lathe so expect a bunch of stupid questions. While I had the forklift I finally got my mill off of the crate too. So it is probably going to be double duty stupid questions. I hope yall will bear with me. I am not a complete novice as I have owned and used a lathe/mill combo for several years, but I do not know much compared to you guys. Any tips appreciated.

I have a buddy coming to help me level and set up my lathe tomorrow. What, other than leveling the lathe, should I do before I get started whittling on metal.
Old 07-17-2008, 01:59 AM
Gold Member

My two bits

If at all possible, bolt that sucker to the floor. Surface finishes will improve.

The "ideal" set up; cut out the slab foot print of each machine from the floor and poor a new one that is isolated from the rest of the floor. This keeps any vibration local and doesn't transmit to other nearby machines that may be running.

I realize this is not realistic in many applications and many consider it waaaay overkill. However it is viable. Many machine tool equipment manufacturers won't even warranty a machine unless it is set up in this manner (Kitamura, Okuma, Deckel, etc. . .)

Surface finishes are better, but none the less, bolt the machine to the floor if at all possible.

Good luck, enjoy your new toys.
Old 07-17-2008, 08:55 AM
Platinum Member

An alternative to drilling the slab is to use a Liqi-lag system. Clean the floor real well and epoxy a steel bedding plate to the floor. If done right it is solid!