Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing


Reply

Installing a New Bolt in a Rifle

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2011, 12:19 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 56
Installing a New Bolt in a Rifle

I have a friend who lost the bolt to his chrome moly long action Rem 700 in 7mm Rem Mag. We found a used bolt on the internet that comes from a stainless model 700 in 7mm RUM.

I believe the bolt face won't be a problem, since the RUM has a rim diameter of .539 and the Rem Mag has one of .532. Should be close enough, right?

I am concerned about headspacing and timing. Are Remington's tolerances good enough to allow switching of bolts without headspacing/timing issues? I know that this may not be a perfect situation, but is it good enough from a function and safety standpoint?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2011, 05:59 AM
Official LRH SPONSOR
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Central North Carolina
Posts: 432
Re: Installing a New Bolt in a Rifle

You need to check headspace. If it is to tight you can face off the lugs on the bolt to increase it. You should not have to change it much. If that is not an option you can change the thickness of your recoil lug. If you search remington lugs will vary a little. Timing should be close enough to work. This not the best solution but you can get buy. Best solution is to let a good smith fix it fot you. Hope ths helps. Dan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2011, 07:30 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fredericksburg VA
Posts: 4,146
Re: Installing a New Bolt in a Rifle

Better bet is to go to Pacific Tool and Gauge and buy their replacement bolt for the 700 with either a Sako or M16 extractor.

BH
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2011, 08:51 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,461
Re: Installing a New Bolt in a Rifle

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpatowers View Post
I have a friend who lost the bolt to his chrome moly long action Rem 700 in 7mm Rem Mag. We found a used bolt on the internet that comes from a stainless model 700 in 7mm RUM.

I believe the bolt face won't be a problem, since the RUM has a rim diameter of .539 and the Rem Mag has one of .532. Should be close enough, right?

I am concerned about headspacing and timing. Are Remington's tolerances good enough to allow switching of bolts without headspacing/timing issues? I know that this may not be a perfect situation, but is it good enough from a function and safety standpoint?

Thanks!

No bolt change should go without checking the head space.

You can buy a go gauge and even a no go gauge and make sure for $30.00 each.

Then you can decide if it needs to go to a smith or not.

If you have to buy a used bolt, I would opt for a new one from PTG (But it would still have to
be head spaced).

J E CUSTOM
__________________
"PRESS ON"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Installing a New Bolt in a Rifle
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing brake trapperluke Gunsmithing 2 03-31-2011 07:41 PM
installing m1 turrets? outwest1 Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 2 11-16-2009 05:08 PM
Installing oversized bolt handle wadedc Gunsmithing 4 01-01-2009 06:47 PM
Help on installing balistics onto PDA elkstalker300 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 6 01-14-2007 11:15 AM
Help on installing ballistics onto a PDA elkstalker300 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 0 12-29-2006 02:05 PM

Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 34.35%
113 Votes
NO - 48.33%
159 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 17.33%
57 Votes
Total Votes: 329
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC