close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

Reply

Installing a New Bolt in a Rifle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 03-04-2011, 12:19 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 61
Installing a New Bolt in a Rifle

I have a friend who lost the bolt to his chrome moly long action Rem 700 in 7mm Rem Mag. We found a used bolt on the internet that comes from a stainless model 700 in 7mm RUM.

I believe the bolt face won't be a problem, since the RUM has a rim diameter of .539 and the Rem Mag has one of .532. Should be close enough, right?

I am concerned about headspacing and timing. Are Remington's tolerances good enough to allow switching of bolts without headspacing/timing issues? I know that this may not be a perfect situation, but is it good enough from a function and safety standpoint?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 03-04-2011, 05:59 AM
    Official LRH SPONSOR
     
    Join Date: Dec 2007
    Location: Central North Carolina
    Posts: 476
    Re: Installing a New Bolt in a Rifle

    You need to check headspace. If it is to tight you can face off the lugs on the bolt to increase it. You should not have to change it much. If that is not an option you can change the thickness of your recoil lug. If you search remington lugs will vary a little. Timing should be close enough to work. This not the best solution but you can get buy. Best solution is to let a good smith fix it fot you. Hope ths helps. Dan
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 03-04-2011, 07:30 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2007
    Location: Wilmington NC
    Posts: 4,707
    Re: Installing a New Bolt in a Rifle

    Better bet is to go to Pacific Tool and Gauge and buy their replacement bolt for the 700 with either a Sako or M16 extractor.

    BH
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 03-04-2011, 08:51 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2004
    Location: Texas
    Posts: 6,923
    Re: Installing a New Bolt in a Rifle

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by rpatowers View Post
    I have a friend who lost the bolt to his chrome moly long action Rem 700 in 7mm Rem Mag. We found a used bolt on the internet that comes from a stainless model 700 in 7mm RUM.

    I believe the bolt face won't be a problem, since the RUM has a rim diameter of .539 and the Rem Mag has one of .532. Should be close enough, right?

    I am concerned about headspacing and timing. Are Remington's tolerances good enough to allow switching of bolts without headspacing/timing issues? I know that this may not be a perfect situation, but is it good enough from a function and safety standpoint?

    Thanks!

    No bolt change should go without checking the head space.

    You can buy a go gauge and even a no go gauge and make sure for $30.00 each.

    Then you can decide if it needs to go to a smith or not.

    If you have to buy a used bolt, I would opt for a new one from PTG (But it would still have to
    be head spaced).

    J E CUSTOM
    __________________
    "PRESS ON"
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Installing a New Bolt in a Rifle
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Installing brake trapperluke Gunsmithing 2 03-31-2011 07:41 PM
    installing m1 turrets? outwest1 Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 2 11-16-2009 05:08 PM
    Installing oversized bolt handle wadedc Gunsmithing 4 01-01-2009 06:47 PM
    Help on installing balistics onto PDA elkstalker300 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 6 01-14-2007 11:15 AM
    Help on installing ballistics onto a PDA elkstalker300 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 0 12-29-2006 02:05 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC