close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

Reply

How to build switch-barrel savage?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 02-28-2012, 08:08 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 59
How to build switch-barrel savage?

I have a savage 111 topped with decent glass and would like to get another barrel to make it a switch barrel rifle. I'd like to get a 30" 338 Edge barrel + Muscle Brake. What all does it entail to have the barrel threaded and muzzle brake "timed"? I'm probably going to have a smith do the work, would just like to know if I'll have to send the action in or not. Also, how hard is it to swap the bolt head and is there some initial fitting involved or is it a drop-in part? How long would you say it would take to swap a barrel and bolt head from one configuration to the next? Would I be better off using a separate bolt and swapping bolt and barrel? Thanks for any help!
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 02-28-2012, 10:15 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: Northern MN
    Posts: 231
    Re: How to build switch-barrel savage?

    As far as two of your questions go;

    1) It takes me about twenty minutes or so to switch barrels using the conventional barrel nut tools and go/no go gauges...Keep track of your scope settings for each caliber and the sight in will probably be only one confirmation shot (depending on your mounts).

    If your smith sets you up with a "nutless" system you probably can shave another 5 minutes or so off the switch time....

    2) If your barrel switch requires two different bolt heads my advice is to have two separate bolts....I have one for my small rifles barrels (.221, .223) and another for my 25-06, 30-06 and .260 barrels....

    Switching bolt heads only will take more time, (especially if you have to adjust the firing pin protrusion)...If I were you I would pay approximately $75 more (over the cost of just a bolt head) for a complete bolt rather than switching the heads each time....Midway has them for about $100 wait till they have their promotional sale towards the end of each month and save another 10%...

    These Savage switches become addictive but it sure is fun...

    Good luck,
    Randy
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 02-29-2012, 10:58 AM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2011
    Posts: 59
    Re: How to build switch-barrel savage?

    Thanks for the info! So I went shopping for a new bolt and ran into what may be a bit of an issue...I'm left-handed (and so is my rifle) and I'm wanting to build a 338 Edge (338-300 RUM). I can't seem to find a Left Handed RUM bolt assembly. They have them in right hand. and they have other left hand bolts available. Do they make such a critter?
    Also, all of those bolts are without ejector...does the extractor do a good enough job of "ejecting" the case?
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 02-29-2012, 11:39 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2006
    Location: Dayton, Nevada
    Posts: 1,932
    Re: How to build switch-barrel savage?

    You don't want a RUM bolt. Those are CRF and won't work in a non-CRF action.

    All you need is a magnum bolt head or bolt.

    To get your brake timed correctly you can install your barrel with the correct headspace, mark the top of your barrel, and send it to have the brake installed.

    I'd recommend Ross Schuler. He does great work and his prices can't be beat.

    Timing your brake any other way will require you to send the barreled action in to a smith to have it done.
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 02-29-2012, 12:55 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Sep 2010
    Posts: 25
    Re: How to build switch-barrel savage?

    Check out this article and you can eliminate headspacing everytime you make a switch.

    Savage Models 12 and 112 Review

    Good Luck
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 02-29-2012, 01:11 PM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2011
    Posts: 59
    Re: How to build switch-barrel savage?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by geargrinder View Post
    You don't want a RUM bolt. Those are CRF and won't work in a non-CRF action.

    All you need is a magnum bolt head or bolt.

    To get your brake timed correctly you can install your barrel with the correct headspace, mark the top of your barrel, and send it to have the brake installed.

    I'd recommend Ross Schuler. He does great work and his prices can't be beat.

    Timing your brake any other way will require you to send the barreled action in to a smith to have it done.
    I'm sorry can you explain what you mean by CRF?

    Thank you all for the suggestions, insight, and help thus far. I really appreciate all of your guys' comments.
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 02-29-2012, 01:30 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Location: Philadelphia Pa.
    Posts: 403
    Re: How to build switch-barrel savage?

    Go here for i for on how best to do a switch barrel rifle How to Build or Rebarrel a Savage Rifle | Western Shooter
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: How to build switch-barrel savage?
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Thoughts on a Savage Switch barrel Build CaptBeach Gunsmithing 10 11-02-2011 09:32 AM
    Savage barrel switch sav12lrpv Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 6 09-04-2011 04:59 PM
    Switch barrel build update...new questions sanjuanfly Long Range Hunting & Shooting 13 03-13-2011 01:20 PM
    switch barrel rifle build sanjuanfly Long Range Hunting & Shooting 28 03-05-2011 09:20 AM
    Savage Switch Barrel. kdog70 Gunsmithing 13 04-01-2010 03:51 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC