Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

High Pressure Flush System/High Speed Chambering Class

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2009, 06:43 AM
Silver Member

Re: High Pressure Flush System/High Speed Chambering Class

Look up Duff Norton Rotary Couplers. Stainless Steel, grease fitting capible, bearings, and attaches straight or at 90 degrees. Comes in many sizes, pressure, RPM and temperature ratings. I think I paid about $180.00 for mine. You can find them on e-bay sometimes for $30.00 or less. Substantially heavier than nylon or plastic models I have seen.

Nat Lambeth
Old 12-22-2009, 09:50 AM
Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by squirrelduster View Post
I'm just learning but it looks like you push the fluid in the muzzle and out past the reamer. Where does the fluid go after it exits the chamber end?
That's exactly how it works. A variation that I also experimented with was in addition to the through barrel method, I had gun drilled reamers with delivery holes poked down into the chip gullets of the reamer. This is by far the best way I think as it ensures you have a way to positively evacuate the chips. Getting oil around the tight fitting pilot bushing can sometimes be tough with a HSS reamer. Carbide tools tend to use bushings with heavier wall thicknesses and can be fluted to allow for fluid transfer. I personally don't care for the carbide reamers. They are very, very unforgiving and it's another huge investment to buy an inventory of pilot sizes because they are not interchangeable with the HSS tools. (Cost me about a thousand bucks to buy all the HSS pilots from 17 up to 338 caliber in .0002" increments)

A set up like this requires a sump. Gravity has the oil make its way back to the sump where it's recovered and recirculated through the pump.

Last edited by NesikaChad; 12-22-2009 at 09:57 AM.
Old 12-22-2009, 10:25 AM
Platinum Member

Quote: