Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

First Build Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2012, 11:03 PM
Bronze Member

First Build Questions

Ill start off by saying I've never done any work to a firearm before, other than cleaning.
I had planned to buy a Tikka T3 Tactical this year for coyote hunting, but figure I can build a superior rifle for the same amount of money.
I want a 22-250 (biggest we can use for coyote), and most hunting will be done in 400yds or less, but I want to use it for target shooting up to 1000yds. I figure I can buy an action, barrel, and stock and put it together myself. Is this a wise idea for someone with zero gunsmithing experience?
I also have some more in depth questions about the build, but I'll do as much research as I can first, I'd just like to know I won't be getting in over my head trying to build a rifle, and end up with a bunch of parts in the closet.
Old 08-10-2012, 01:43 AM
Platinum Member

Re: First Build Questions

I've heard tale of alot o folks (that don't have machine shop or lathe skills) who have built their own rifles off of savage actions.

Old 08-10-2012, 08:22 AM
Bronze Member

That's what I need, something where I can buy the parts and put them all together myself, no lathing or machine work.
Old 08-10-2012, 08:37 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by SBruce View Post
I've heard tale of alot o folks (that don't have machine shop or lathe skills) who have built their own rifles off of savage actions.
Very good advice !!!!!

Read everything you can, buy a head space gauge for your build and check and re check
everything.

If your not sure and have a gunsmith near ask him to check head space for you. (Very cheep insurance).

Test fire from a safe distance (Tie the rifle down and use a cord 20 to 30 ft away) to start with,
use factory loads .

Have fun and be carefull.

J E CUSTOM