Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing


Reply

Does adding a muzzle break affect accuracy?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2012, 08:14 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Does adding a muzzle break affect accuracy?

I am about to purchase a 300 RUM, although I am not yet sure on the model. I was looking at the Remington Sendero, Browning A-Bolt, and Browning X-bolt. If I buy one without a break, would having one put on mess up my accuracy. I've read that changing the harmonics of a barrel can be good or bad for accuracy.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2012, 08:19 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Townsend, Montana.
Posts: 7,813
Re: Does adding a muzzle break affect accuracy?

No, in most cases they improve accuracy due to less recoil. I just shot a 2" three shot group at 720 yards today with a brake on.

Jeff
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2012, 06:03 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 65
Re: Does adding a muzzle break affect accuracy?

I agree with Broz less recoil better accuracy .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2012, 08:35 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 8,090
Re: Does adding a muzzle break affect accuracy?

What Broz said!
__________________
I may be the slowest guy on the mountain . . . . but . . . . I'm on the mountain!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2012, 08:54 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 3,464
Re: Does adding a muzzle break affect accuracy?

.....plus less shoulder pain from magnum cartridges.

.....additionally more money in your wallet from less visits to the chiropractor.
__________________
'It's not about me, it's about we'..........
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2012, 08:08 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Re: Does adding a muzzle break affect accuracy?

Guess I just came up with another question. Does it affect velocity? I was recently told the add on does not, but the ported barrels do. Any truth?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2012, 09:55 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Townsend, Montana.
Posts: 7,813
Re: Does adding a muzzle break affect accuracy?

The only reason I could go with that would be, If you are taking a 26" barrel and adding a brake you are adding length to the rifle and not sacrificing any functional barrel length. If you do 2" of porting to the existing 26" barrel you are releasing the gasses and pressure at 24" so you have lost some functional barrel length. But I don't think the brake it self does anything to cause loss of velocity.

Jeff
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Does adding a muzzle break affect accuracy?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much is this going to affect accuracy? kirbymcrae Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 08-08-2012 08:34 PM
Does Trigger affect accuracy? Laker_Taker Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 11 06-26-2012 07:05 AM
How much does rain affect accuracy? linksmechanic Long Range Hunting & Shooting 6 10-18-2009 08:01 PM
Do belts affect accuracy? trader388 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 19 03-23-2004 12:39 AM
Muzzle brakes affect on accuracy? motoguy The Basics, Starting Out 5 01-09-2004 09:04 PM

Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 30.98%
57 Votes
NO - 53.26%
98 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 15.76%
29 Votes
Total Votes: 184
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC