Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

Coolant/Oil for Chamber flush

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2011, 09:07 AM

Coolant/Oil for Chamber flush

Looking for some guidance for my needs. I recently got all set up for chamber flushing and now need to select my fluid that best fits my needs. I have not done this way of chambering before. Completely new to this.

I am a low volume shop. Maybe 10-15 chamberings a year. Maybe more but thats the current trend.

I would like low maintenance. I have read about synthetic vs others. Seams synthetic is easier to maintain. I will be going many weeks between chambering so I have been told having something like Rustlick 5050 or others may not be the best for me due to inactivity of the fluid. If I am wrong please tell me so. I have some 5050 on hand but will get what what would be better if advised. I have no experience with the "smell" and "growth" but from the sounds of it, I would like to avoid that if possible. I have also read about discoloration of the exposed metal on the lathe...whats that about? I don't want that!

What ratio to use with what product recommendation? And why that ratio? Is it based on volume of your pump, material, cutting speed, or some combination of all three and more?

Thanks in advance. And if you got some other insight that you would like to let me in on....much appreciated! For I'm sure I left out other questions I should have asked.
Old 01-02-2012, 07:22 PM

Re: Coolant/Oil for Chamber flush

No one has a suggestion? Surely someone here does it this way and has a recommendation.

Are there any members here that anyone can point me towards that may have an answer?
Old 01-04-2012, 12:46 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by WARD View Post
No one has a suggestion? Surely someone here does it this way and has a recommendation.