Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing


Reply

Can I re cut a 260rem chamber to AI specs without setting my barrel back?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2010, 08:14 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SOCIALIST CONTROLLED TERRITORY OF NEW YORK
Posts: 4,388
Can I re cut a 260rem chamber to AI specs without setting my barrel back?

Dont know who will have an awnser for this question? I have a 260rem I was thinking of making it a 260AI what is involved in this? Can the chamber just be cut again or doe's the barrel have to be set back?

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2010, 08:30 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 134
Re: Can I re cut a 260rem chamber to AI specs without setting my barrel back?

Its my understanding that you should set the barrel back at least one turn. And when it is rechambered to an Ackley, then smith should stop reaming .002 short of the headspace dimension. This way, you end up with a tight jam on the factory case, which makes for a better fireformed case.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2010, 08:44 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SOCIALIST CONTROLLED TERRITORY OF NEW YORK
Posts: 4,388
Re: Can I re cut a 260rem chamber to AI specs without setting my barrel back?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tackdriver10 View Post
Its my understanding that you should set the barrel back at least one turn. And when it is rechambered to an Ackley, then smith should stop reaming .002 short of the headspace dimension. This way, you end up with a tight jam on the factory case, which makes for a better fireformed case.
Oh the fire forming issue never hit me thats a great point thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2010, 11:36 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SW MO
Posts: 1,146
Re: Can I re cut a 260rem chamber to AI specs without setting my barrel back?

Tackdriver10 is correct. I believe the reason for the AI chamber being a bit shorter resulting in the crush fit on the shoulder is so that the case head doesn't suffer stretching in the initial fire forming.
__________________
Lefties are the only ones in their right minds!
(and I ain't talkin' politics!)

NRA Life Member
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2010, 01:43 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SOCIALIST CONTROLLED TERRITORY OF NEW YORK
Posts: 4,388
Re: Can I re cut a 260rem chamber to AI specs without setting my barrel back?

Gee I didnt think it was shorted if that where the case how would you shoot factory ammo in it?

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2010, 10:37 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,009
Re: Can I re cut a 260rem chamber to AI specs without setting my barrel back?

the no go gage becomes the go gage or vice a versa.

anyway, you must set it back to be done properly.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2010, 10:08 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 134
Re: Can I re cut a 260rem chamber to AI specs without setting my barrel back?

You can still shoot factory ammo. It will just be a tad harder to close the bolt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Can I re cut a 260rem chamber to AI specs without setting my barrel back?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting Scope Back to Zero xAsylum Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 10 06-27-2011 08:01 PM
Barrel length for .260rem? loaders_loft Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 12 09-10-2010 01:53 AM
Setting back a 6.5-284 barrel, rechamber to 264 WM? sambo3006 Gunsmithing 2 01-03-2010 09:04 AM
Setting up chamber, how far out to seat? pics Marine sniper Reloading 0 07-24-2008 01:04 PM
30-378 chamber specs needed. Norz Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 11 02-12-2007 07:49 PM

Current Poll
Do you plan to buy a new custom rifle in the next 12 months?
YES - Of course - 72.66%
1,674 Vote
NO - wife/girlfriend won't let me. - 27.34%
630 Votes
Total Votes: 2,304
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC