close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

Reply

camber dimesnsions too minimum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 02-16-2014, 08:12 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
camber dimesnsions too minimum

About 15 years ago I had a 300 Winchester Magnum built with a 700 action and a 27 inch Lilja. This was my first build. I had a local gunsmith do it, but found out later he is pretty terrible at what he does. When I got the gun home, I quickly re-sized some brass and when I went to put the brass in and close the bolt, the bolt would not close. I took it back down and said, "What's up?" He said "You asked for a minimum dimension chamber!". He told me he took a Remington factory round and made the camber so it would just barely close on that round. Sure enough, he put it in and it barely closed. So I bought some Remington brass and out of 100 pieces I got 30 to close really nicely, some wouldn't close at all, most of them were really difficult to close. I would just bags of 100, get my 30-35 pieces that worked really well, and shoot my gun. I have tried several brands of brass and have none that will allow my bolt to close. I bought a body die by Redding and thought if I keep turning the body die down, I can probably get any piece of brass to close the bolt and fit quite well. This hasn't worked out. My gunsmith said after I had the job done, if I wanted the chamber to be bigger, it would cost me extra. I just bought 50 pieces of Nosler brass and no mater what I do with that body die, the bolt won't begin to close. Any advice or help will be much appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 02-16-2014, 08:20 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2007
    Location: Wilmington NC
    Posts: 4,708
    Re: camber dimesnsions too minimum

    You have two choices.

    1. Order a custom smaller sizer die.

    2. Rechamber the barrel. I would not allow that knucklehead to touch it. A rechamber will probably set the barrel back 1-2 inches so that would leave you with 25-27 inches which is still good.

    3. Did you specify that small a chamber?

    BTW, a custom smaller resizing die will cost almost as much as the rechamber and you still cannot load factory.
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 02-16-2014, 08:46 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Posts: 29
    Re: camber dimesnsions too minimum

    Thanks for your response. Wouldn't it be possible to just have a gunsmith make my chamber slightly larger. Ryan from Precison rifles has done a 6.5 284 Norma for me with a Brux at 28 inches and that thing is the most accurate gun I have ever owned.If not I will just have him re-chamber it. Thanks for helping out!
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 02-17-2014, 12:02 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2004
    Location: Texas
    Posts: 6,927
    Re: camber dimesnsions too minimum

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Lazerus View Post
    Thanks for your response. Wouldn't it be possible to just have a gunsmith make my chamber slightly larger. Ryan from Precison rifles has done a 6.5 284 Norma for me with a Brux at 28 inches and that thing is the most accurate gun I have ever owned.If not I will just have him re-chamber it. Thanks for helping out!


    You can just use a SAAME reamer and head space .001 to .002 thousandths longer that the go gauge by using 1 to 2 thousandths shims between the go gauge and the bolt face.

    Any good smith should be able to do it.

    J E CUSTOM
    __________________
    "PRESS ON"
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 02-17-2014, 12:47 AM
    SPONSOR
     
    Join Date: Mar 2010
    Location: on the Southern Plains
    Posts: 1,873
    Re: camber dimesnsions too minimum

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by J E Custom View Post
    You can just use a SAAME reamer and head space .001 to .002 thousandths longer that the go gauge by using 1 to 2 thousandths shims between the go gauge and the bolt face.

    Any good smith should be able to do it.

    J E CUSTOM
    +1 Just have the headspace set to minimum SAAMI specs, as it should have been to begin with.
    __________________
    "Shoots real good!": definition; it didn't blow-up in my face. 1993 graduate Montgomery Community College 2yr. gunsmithing program
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 02-17-2014, 10:54 AM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Apr 2007
    Location: Fort Morgan, Colorado
    Posts: 397
    Re: camber dimesnsions too minimum

    Lazerus, I had the same problem with a factory Tikka T3 Lite in 300WSM. I ground a small amount off the skirt of the sizer die and all brass chambered without issue. You just need to move the shoulder back a little more than SAAMI spec to get them to work.
    __________________
    Dennis
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 02-22-2014, 09:28 PM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Posts: 978
    Re: camber dimesnsions too minimum

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Gunpoor View Post
    Lazerus, I had the same problem with a factory Tikka T3 Lite in 300WSM. I ground a small amount off the skirt of the sizer die and all brass chambered without issue. You just need to move the shoulder back a little more than SAAMI spec to get them to work.
    An even easier method is to turn the TOP of a shell holder down by .010", this will allow the case to enter the die further and push the shoulder back by that same amount. I have a custom 375 Weatherby that this was necessary for, it works quite well.

    Cheers.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC