Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing


Reply

camber dimesnsions too minimum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2014, 08:12 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
camber dimesnsions too minimum

About 15 years ago I had a 300 Winchester Magnum built with a 700 action and a 27 inch Lilja. This was my first build. I had a local gunsmith do it, but found out later he is pretty terrible at what he does. When I got the gun home, I quickly re-sized some brass and when I went to put the brass in and close the bolt, the bolt would not close. I took it back down and said, "What's up?" He said "You asked for a minimum dimension chamber!". He told me he took a Remington factory round and made the camber so it would just barely close on that round. Sure enough, he put it in and it barely closed. So I bought some Remington brass and out of 100 pieces I got 30 to close really nicely, some wouldn't close at all, most of them were really difficult to close. I would just bags of 100, get my 30-35 pieces that worked really well, and shoot my gun. I have tried several brands of brass and have none that will allow my bolt to close. I bought a body die by Redding and thought if I keep turning the body die down, I can probably get any piece of brass to close the bolt and fit quite well. This hasn't worked out. My gunsmith said after I had the job done, if I wanted the chamber to be bigger, it would cost me extra. I just bought 50 pieces of Nosler brass and no mater what I do with that body die, the bolt won't begin to close. Any advice or help will be much appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2014, 08:20 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fredericksburg VA
Posts: 4,146
Re: camber dimesnsions too minimum

You have two choices.

1. Order a custom smaller sizer die.

2. Rechamber the barrel. I would not allow that knucklehead to touch it. A rechamber will probably set the barrel back 1-2 inches so that would leave you with 25-27 inches which is still good.

3. Did you specify that small a chamber?

BTW, a custom smaller resizing die will cost almost as much as the rechamber and you still cannot load factory.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2014, 08:46 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 28
Re: camber dimesnsions too minimum

Thanks for your response. Wouldn't it be possible to just have a gunsmith make my chamber slightly larger. Ryan from Precison rifles has done a 6.5 284 Norma for me with a Brux at 28 inches and that thing is the most accurate gun I have ever owned.If not I will just have him re-chamber it. Thanks for helping out!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2014, 12:02 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,465
Re: camber dimesnsions too minimum

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazerus View Post
Thanks for your response. Wouldn't it be possible to just have a gunsmith make my chamber slightly larger. Ryan from Precison rifles has done a 6.5 284 Norma for me with a Brux at 28 inches and that thing is the most accurate gun I have ever owned.If not I will just have him re-chamber it. Thanks for helping out!


You can just use a SAAME reamer and head space .001 to .002 thousandths longer that the go gauge by using 1 to 2 thousandths shims between the go gauge and the bolt face.

Any good smith should be able to do it.

J E CUSTOM
__________________
"PRESS ON"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2014, 12:47 AM
SPONSOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: on the Southern Plains
Posts: 1,138
Re: camber dimesnsions too minimum

Quote:
Originally Posted by J E Custom View Post
You can just use a SAAME reamer and head space .001 to .002 thousandths longer that the go gauge by using 1 to 2 thousandths shims between the go gauge and the bolt face.

Any good smith should be able to do it.

J E CUSTOM
+1 Just have the headspace set to minimum SAAMI specs, as it should have been to begin with.
__________________
"Shoots real good!": definition; it didn't blow-up in my face. Not everything can be fixed on an internet forum!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2014, 10:54 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fort Morgan, Colorado
Posts: 327
Re: camber dimesnsions too minimum

Lazerus, I had the same problem with a factory Tikka T3 Lite in 300WSM. I ground a small amount off the skirt of the sizer die and all brass chambered without issue. You just need to move the shoulder back a little more than SAAMI spec to get them to work.
__________________
Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2014, 09:28 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 501
Re: camber dimesnsions too minimum

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunpoor View Post
Lazerus, I had the same problem with a factory Tikka T3 Lite in 300WSM. I ground a small amount off the skirt of the sizer die and all brass chambered without issue. You just need to move the shoulder back a little more than SAAMI spec to get them to work.
An even easier method is to turn the TOP of a shell holder down by .010", this will allow the case to enter the die further and push the shoulder back by that same amount. I have a custom 375 Weatherby that this was necessary for, it works quite well.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 34.44%
114 Votes
NO - 48.34%
160 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 17.22%
57 Votes
Total Votes: 331
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC