Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

Building a 300 win mag.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2014, 01:02 PM
Bronze Member

Building a 300 win mag.

So I've got a browning a-bolt 270 that I love. I shoot with it all the time and I hand load for it. But I know that eventually its going to be time to re-barrel it. I would like to go to a different caliber when I do and I'm looking really seriously at the 300 win mag. I have limited gunsmithing experience so my question is if I get a barrel chambered for 300 win mag, and a bolt/ bolt face for 300 win mag would that be all I need to do? Just looking for some guidance as to if this is how to do it and if not what do I need to do to make this work? Is it even possible at all?
Old 01-26-2014, 05:35 PM
Silver Member

Re: Building a 300 win mag.

I'm not familiar with Browning actions, but just having the bolt face opened and a new barrel fitted may not be all that is needed, because a 300WinMag is larger in body diameter you may find you will have to open the feed lips and modify the feed ramp so the cartridge doesn't hang up or jam.

Wouldn't it be easier just to buy a rifle in 300WinMag and have the best of both worlds?

That's what I would do, I have 3 300WinMags and love all 3, all are very accurate and pose no problem regarding handloading and brass life.

Cheers.
Old 01-28-2014, 06:51 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnumManiac View Post
I'm not familiar with Browning actions, but just having the bolt face opened and a new barrel fitted may not be all that is needed, because a 300WinMag is larger in body diameter you may find you will have to open the feed lips and modify the feed ramp so the cartridge doesn't hang up or jam.

Wouldn't it be easier just to buy a rifle in 300WinMag and have the best of both worlds?

That's what I would do