Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

bore solvent

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2011, 11:53 PM
Bronze Member

bore solvent

Can anyone recommend a good bore solvent that they use after each shooting. I have been using the remington bore cleaner but not sure if there is something better that is not super harsh.

Thanks

Brian
Old 03-17-2011, 01:51 AM
Gold Member

Re: bore solvent

I learned this from a benchrest shooter. Mix Shooter's Choice blackpowder gel with Shooter's Choice copper solvent. It stays a gel so it sticks to your brush. It cleans faster than anything I ever used.
Old 03-17-2011, 04:17 AM
Platinum Member

I've been using Shooters Choice for many years. I also use Sweets 7.62. Sweets seems to be just a little faster working, but I haven't tried the Blackpowder Gel mixed with Shooters Choice. Maybe it's faster than Sweets?

Just don't leave the ammonia based copper solvents in the bore for long periods........it says so in the instructions. I've always followed the copper solvents with regular solvent, just to make sure there isn't still any in the bore.

Old 03-17-2011, 04:42 AM
Platinum Member

You could potentially get as many different opinions on this as there are shooters. Remember, in that barrel, you have both copper and carbon deposits. Most cleaners will not remove both. Some are questionable. Wipe Out foam does a good job on both. Montana Extreme, Shooters Choice, Butch's, Bore Tech and others will attack copper. I like JB for carbon, but there are others. I always use nylon brushes, mostly Iosso or Montana Extreme. To check on cleanliness of the cleaner, I frequently swab some Sweets in the bore, let it sit for 15 minutes, and if it comes out clean, the copper is gone. Finish with denatured alcohol to clean out the Sweets.

You can google this subject and get a great many opinions. You will be confused.
Old 03-17-2011, 06:51 AM