Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

bedding

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2014, 10:33 PM
Gold Member

bedding

Hello , I have a new can of bondo brand liquid fiberglass resin ,I was going to use for the top of my reloading bench but I got to thinking could I use this stuff for rifle bedding ? Any info would help ..thanks
Old 02-26-2014, 12:04 PM
Gold Member

Re: bedding

Any info ??
Old 02-26-2014, 01:06 PM
Silver Member

The stuff I bought had two parts to it, resin and fiber. I dint think it matters really what you use fiberglass wise, but I'm no expert. The thing I would make sure you do is coat all the metal parts with something to prevent the bedding from adhering to the action and barrel.

I've done two. One I put pillar beds in, the other I just redid the bedding. Both were rather easy and a lot of fun.
Old 02-26-2014, 05:47 PM
Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marble View Post
The stuff I bought had two parts to it, resin and fiber. I dint think it matters really what you use fiberglass wise, but I'm no expert. The thing I would make sure you do is coat all the metal parts with something to prevent the bedding from adhering to the action and barrel.

I've done two. One I put pillar beds in, the other I just redid the bedding. Both were rather easy and a lot of fun.
Thank you Marble!!!!!
Old 02-27-2014, 09:14 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caleb85 View Post
Hello , I have a new can of bondo brand liquid fiberglass resin ,I was going to use for the top of my reloading bench but I got to thinking could I use this stuff for rifle bedding ? Any info would help ..thanks
I personally don't recommend using anything that was not made for bedding.

Some products have solvents that will dissolve release agents gluing the action to the stock.

Also bedding is designed to have compressive strength and toughness. products that are