close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing

Reply

Action screw stripped in stock, help!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 08-29-2012, 10:00 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 47
Action screw stripped in stock, help!

I have a savage model 10. My brother noticed my action screws were loose so I used the method of torquing the front 2 to 35 lbs and the rear to no more than 30 in-lbs in 5lb-in increments. Problem is the back screw has chewed of the plastic on the inside so there is nothing for screw to " bite" too. And groups are 2 ft at 200 when I was shooting .9" the day before. How can I fix this? It is model 10 with 3 action screws and bolt release on top right of action
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 08-29-2012, 08:41 PM
    KRP KRP is offline
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2007
    Location: Kuna, ID
    Posts: 594
    Re: Action screw stripped in stock, help!

    On a model 10 the rear screw only holds the trigger guard to the stock, the front two are the action screws. I'd ditch the plastic trigger guard for a metal one anyway.
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 08-29-2012, 09:12 PM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Posts: 47
    Re: Action screw stripped in stock, help!

    Thanks I just realized this , what torque value would you go to?
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 08-29-2012, 09:30 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2010
    Posts: 318
    Re: Action screw stripped in stock, help!

    Trigger guard screw is usually 5 to 8 inch pounds
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 08-29-2012, 10:23 PM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Posts: 47
    Re: Action screw stripped in stock, help!

    What about the action screws for 2screwactions.?
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 08-30-2012, 05:41 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2008
    Location: Great Falls, MT
    Posts: 9,272
    Re: Action screw stripped in stock, help!

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Wrcassell21 View Post
    What about the action screws for 2screwactions.?
    You had it right ... 30 in/lbs. Check this out >>> Savage Action Screw Torque Tuning within AccurateShooter.com
    __________________

    I voted for my "FREEDOM", "GUNS", and "MONEY" - keep the change - UNK.



    "I am always proud of my country!"

    "Leadership Rule #2: Don't be an ***hole." - Maj Gen Burton Field.
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 08-30-2012, 04:55 PM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Posts: 47
    Re: Action screw stripped in stock, help!

    thanks for the advice guys but I may have bigger problems, shot about a half inch group at 200 this am, adjusted for zero then shot another group. the first two once adjusted were where they should've been then had shots 3 and 4 a random 3" from bullseye and not together , I dismounted the scope and reshot the gun with another scope and shot just fine . so I'm gonna send it on in to vortex and let them at least look at it.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Action screw stripped in stock, help!
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    stripped allen screw removal Truc General Discussion 33 09-12-2014 04:04 PM
    Stripped EGW picatinny base screw. Help! Miller Outdoors Gunsmithing 10 08-29-2012 07:16 PM
    Savage 110 Wood Stock Stripped, Sanded and Prepped TORCHRIDER Gun Parts - Stocks, Barrels, Actions, etc. 1 12-11-2011 10:24 AM
    Stripped screw???? ovastafford Gunsmithing 1 05-06-2010 06:19 PM
    Savage action with weird action screw spacing? eddybo Rimfire and Airguns 3 02-04-2009 12:49 AM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC