Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing


Reply

Action screw stripped in stock, help!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2012, 10:00 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Action screw stripped in stock, help!

I have a savage model 10. My brother noticed my action screws were loose so I used the method of torquing the front 2 to 35 lbs and the rear to no more than 30 in-lbs in 5lb-in increments. Problem is the back screw has chewed of the plastic on the inside so there is nothing for screw to " bite" too. And groups are 2 ft at 200 when I was shooting .9" the day before. How can I fix this? It is model 10 with 3 action screws and bolt release on top right of action
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2012, 08:41 PM
KRP KRP is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kuna, ID
Posts: 594
Re: Action screw stripped in stock, help!

On a model 10 the rear screw only holds the trigger guard to the stock, the front two are the action screws. I'd ditch the plastic trigger guard for a metal one anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2012, 09:12 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Re: Action screw stripped in stock, help!

Thanks I just realized this , what torque value would you go to?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2012, 09:30 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 284
Re: Action screw stripped in stock, help!

Trigger guard screw is usually 5 to 8 inch pounds
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2012, 10:23 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Re: Action screw stripped in stock, help!

What about the action screws for 2screwactions.?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-30-2012, 05:41 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 4,604
Re: Action screw stripped in stock, help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrcassell21 View Post
What about the action screws for 2screwactions.?
You had it right ... 30 in/lbs. Check this out >>> Savage Action Screw Torque Tuning within AccurateShooter.com
__________________

I voted for my "FREEDOM", "GUNS", and "MONEY" - keep the change - UNK.



"I am always proud of my country!"

"Leadership Rule #2: Don't be an @zzhole." - Maj Gen Burton Field.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2012, 04:55 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Re: Action screw stripped in stock, help!

thanks for the advice guys but I may have bigger problems, shot about a half inch group at 200 this am, adjusted for zero then shot another group. the first two once adjusted were where they should've been then had shots 3 and 4 a random 3" from bullseye and not together , I dismounted the scope and reshot the gun with another scope and shot just fine . so I'm gonna send it on in to vortex and let them at least look at it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Action screw stripped in stock, help!
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
stripped allen screw removal Truc General Discussion 33 09-12-2014 04:04 PM
Stripped EGW picatinny base screw. Help! Miller Outdoors Gunsmithing 10 08-29-2012 07:16 PM
Savage 110 Wood Stock Stripped, Sanded and Prepped TORCHRIDER Gun Parts - Stocks, Barrels, Actions, etc. 1 12-11-2011 10:24 AM
Stripped screw???? ovastafford Gunsmithing 1 05-06-2010 06:19 PM
Savage action with weird action screw spacing? eddybo Rimfire and Airguns 3 02-04-2009 12:49 AM

Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 32.00%
72 Votes
NO - 51.11%
115 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 16.89%
38 Votes
Total Votes: 225
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC