Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Gunsmithing


Reply

30-06 wont chamber

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2011, 03:30 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 212
30-06 wont chamber

Went out to check zero on my rifle this afternoon befor I went to my bear stand.

I put a shell in the action, and threw the bolt ahead, but it wouldn't chamber the round????? not sure why, the bolt is about 1/8th of an inch from being all the way forward.

Not sure what the issue is. I used the rifle alot last year with no issues.

It is factory ammo, and I tried a couple different brands, both with same result.


So the question,

WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON??????? Head spacing screwed? How do I fix it?

Last edited by jpbaker; 04-25-2011 at 07:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2011, 04:20 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 115
Re: 30-06 wont chamber

What brand of rifle is it? Have you taken the action out of the stock recently? I have seen more than a few times someone really torquing down the screws on a Rem700 and having threads poke thru the action holes. This will stop the bolt from closing all the way. Also did you by chance put new bases on the rifle? Some actions use different length screws to keep them from being to deep when tightened.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2011, 07:08 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 212
Re: 30-06 wont chamber

Yeah, the stock has been off a bit lately (opened forend, and bedded it.) Its a Savage edge

However, torqueing the screws is not the problem, because it still does it when the stock is off, and also, if I take the bolt out and drop a shell in, apply some pressure with my fingers, it wont go in all the way aout 1/8th of an inch out.

So im thinking is dont have anything to do with the bolt....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2011, 07:16 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Watertown, SD
Posts: 322
Re: 30-06 wont chamber

did you take the scope base off? on the 110 series you can get the screws mixed up from front to rear and you cant shut your bolt.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2011, 08:29 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Prosperity, Pa
Posts: 373
Re: 30-06 wont chamber

Could there be a cleaning patch stuck in the chamber??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2011, 08:38 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Carlisle, PA
Posts: 478
Re: 30-06 wont chamber

Bedding compound in the chamber?

Fitch
__________________
"For a successful technology, reality must take precedence over public relations, for nature cannot be fooled." R. Feynman. (Last sentence of the Feynman appendix to the Space Shuttle Challenger Report.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2011, 10:08 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Malta NY
Posts: 719
Re: 30-06 wont chamber

+1 on Scope BAse screws.
__________________
“When a long train of abuses and usurpations, pursuing invariably the same object evinces a design to reduce them under absolute despotism, it is their right, it is their duty to throw off such governments. …” Jefferson

We are very close to this point now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: 30-06 wont chamber
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why wont My Scope Fit? Leupold/M-70 forkliftfred Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 8 08-23-2010 10:27 PM
HELP!! .308 wont cycle . New gun ! haywire05 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 10 09-08-2009 05:33 PM
7 STW brass wont chamber shimoda Reloading 8 05-24-2009 06:40 PM
Chamber wont close smoak Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 6 04-05-2003 01:39 AM
Wont chamber fire formed brass? daveosok Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 9 08-14-2002 10:10 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC