close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Chatting and General Stuff > Long Range Competition

Long Range Competition Sniper stuff, groundhog shoots, egg shoots, 1000yd BR, F-Class

300 Weatherby at 1000yards?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-04-2010, 12:29 AM

Re: 300 Weatherby at 1000yards?

Hi,
This disease must be contagious I was only going to have one gun but that was a year ago.
I have a 300 wby mag in a Vangard stainless with a Bushnell 6500 4.5-30X50 and I am just getting into hand loading.
Do you have any advice for me as I advance to longer distances?
oh_j0ker

Unread 02-04-2010, 02:24 AM
Platinum Member

Yup...classic triggernosus...best treated with shootincillin. 300 Weatherby is just warming up at 500 yards...1000 no problem.
Unread 02-04-2010, 09:29 AM
Platinum Member

The 300WBY is great at 1000yrds, we shoot a Vanguard and it will shoot way better than the trigger puller. We tried the 210 Bergers with Retumbo but changed due to recoil, absolutely brutal in the light Vanguard. The 185's are easier but I think it will wear a new stock with a possible brake installation.
Unread 02-04-2010, 01:56 PM
Platinum Member

I also have a 300wby,and love it. Mine is ''factory'' though the rifle can most likely outperform the shooter(me) I dont feel -my- setup would do well at 1k. NOT because of caliber. Ive been told of wonderful performance well past 1k, and beyond with 300wby. but -my- rifle wears a ''factory'' bbl and stock, and may not perform to the standard that I want it to at that distance. Heck I might not either, but Im working on changing that. I havent taken the ''leap'' into a full on ''L/R'' rifle yet, but its rapidly aproaching, as I too have the ''sickness''. In my case I would need the right tool(complete package) for the job or Id be chasing gohsts expecting ultimate performance from an incomplete package(including bettering my own personal ability).