close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Photography > Nature Photography

Reply

Whoops ......

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 05-30-2007, 10:13 PM
 
Posts: n/a
Whoops ......




I've been playing with my camera lately, but from time to time I just can not get the stupid auto focus to grab what I want. Any hints on what I might be doing wrong?


Also, how about some hints for getting steady shots without using a tripod? It's funny to think I can shoot 200 yard open sight matches all day from a standing position, but I can't get a steady photo unless I'm leaning against something or using a tripod.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 05-30-2007, 11:41 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: May 2001
    Location: Casper Wy
    Posts: 1,377
    Re: Whoops ......

    In this case the auto focus picked up the small twigs in the foreground.You may try to push the focus button down and let the camera focus on the goose on the right without the twigs in the way and then move to where you did for the shot.The Twigs are still gona be in the way but the geese will be in focus and the twigs will be blurry in the foreground.
    For instance I pushed the trigger of the camera way down with the bird in the center of the view finder and let the camera focus=then I moved to the left and got the buffalo in the pic too and took the shot.The bird is in focus but the buffalo is blurred


    In this photo I did just the opposite.I put the buffalo in the center of the view finder and pushed the trigger way down to let the camera focus on the buffalo=then moved to the right to get the bird in the pic then I took the shot.
    Hope I explained it right?



    I like to use one of those walking/shooting mono pods.Most of them will screw into the camera.They are adjustable enough to use anywhere and help steady a camera as good or better than a gun.
    __________________
    "Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler." -Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 05-31-2007, 08:13 AM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2006
    Location: Missouri
    Posts: 143
    Re: Whoops ......

    MSU, what type of camera are you shooting? I shoot a Canon 10D, and I can switch which focusing point to use. In my camera, there are I think 7 focusing points that you can pick and choose from.
    __________________
    sharpshooterbr
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 05-31-2007, 04:56 PM
     
    Posts: n/a
    Re: Whoops ......

    I'm using a Kodak Z710 that I picked up last fall. Overall, the camera is great for macro shots (which is mostly all I have used it for so far) and chances are I just haven't played with all of the settings yet.
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 05-31-2007, 09:22 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2006
    Location: Missouri
    Posts: 143
    Re: Whoops ......

    OK, on the Koday Z710, hit menu, then picture taking and then go down to the multi-zone function. There you can select which zone you want to use for focusing. By doing this, you know precisely where in the viewfinder it will focus. Hope this helps.
    __________________
    sharpshooterbr
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC