Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Bowhunting

is 50## enough

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2009, 06:39 PM
Silver Member

is 50## enough

im looking into getting into bow hunting. just looking at bows at the moment. im 6'1" and can draw my bros 65# bow all day with no issues.
the question i have is there is a 50# bear express bow ive seen and was wondering if 50# is enough to kill deer out to say 70rds ( ofcourse after practice)
any info would be great
cheers
Old 12-17-2009, 08:48 PM
Bronze Member

Re: is 50## enough

I'm no expert, so my opinion is about all I can offer.
I'm not too familiar with the bow you mentioned, but I would suspect it would depend a lot on the setup you have. By this I mean, are you shooting carbon arrows or aluminum arrows and what type of broad heads are you shooting? Mechanical broadheads require more energy to open the blades. It may not be a huge amount, but it's note-worthy. We all know carbon arrows are faster too. What type of speed is the bow capable of? These are the type things to take into consideration.

My first bow was a Darton youth bow. Setting at 45lbs, I would not take a shot past 40 yards with it and that was still pushing it. If I turned it up to 50, I doubt it having the power to take a dear past 40yards still. I honestly don't think I could fit enough pins in the sight to get me out to 70yards.

My current bow is only on about 60lbs, but it's designed to shoot arrows fast. I know for a fact it will take deer at 70 yards if I do my part. (I don't like shooting past 40 though.)

So to answer your question. It probably will provided you can launch your arrows with enough speed to make them count, which most of your recent bows can do. I just feel better shooting more weight.

Chris
Old 12-18-2009, 03:41 AM
Silver Member