Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Muzzleloader Hunting

Muzzleloader Hunting Techniques For Muzzleloader Hunting

Good load gone bad?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2010, 10:12 AM
Gold Member

Good load gone bad?

I have a ML question for anybody out there with some experience. I have a TC prohunter .50 cal, that I found with Blachorn 209shoots exceptionally well. My load-120gr vol with a 200gr TC shockwave and a winshester primer. In the fall of 2009 I started shooting it and found with the above load to produce .55 inch groups center to center @ 100yds. It shot the same way earlier this season too, but i took it out just before the ML ( just to check to see if it is still zeroed after the firearm season ) season here in Michigan to the range when it was about in the mid twenties ( temp ) and it seemed my very consistant half inch groups fell open to approx. two inch groups............Is it the temperature change?...........could it have been the gusting wind? This is still at a 100 yds. Wind was about 15 to 25 mph. The range where i was at has to 10ft walls of dirt on both sides of the range so there is not the effect of a full wind....but some wind. Like I said it shot the same earlier this fall but all of a sudden started shooting a little wacky. I just dont understand if my load didnt change and neither did anything else...........What could be the case? Also I thought maybe loading pressure consistancy could be an issue too. Thanks to anyone who can help.----------Meatyrem
Old 12-05-2010, 02:45 PM
Silver Member

Re: Good load gone bad?

Had the same problem last year on my ML. Found my scope bases a little loose! A little degreasing and a little Loctite fixed mine. Also pitched out the previous years triple 7, I buy new every year now. Figured it was cheaper than scotch if I had a misfire while aiming at a 180 class Whitetail.
Old 12-06-2010, 11:09 AM