close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Muzzleloader Hunting

Muzzleloader Hunting Techniques For Muzzleloader Hunting

Reply

can you brake a muzzleloader?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 02-17-2008, 02:51 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Grafton, WI
Posts: 601
can you brake a muzzleloader?

I was wondering if this was possible? It sure would make it more fun to shoot in the summer with a t-shirt...
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 02-17-2008, 06:10 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Posts: 9
    Fouling will clog them up and getting the bullet started right from the muzzle would be next to impossible to get straight.
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 02-23-2008, 08:35 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2004
    Location: Texas
    Posts: 6,923
    Zuba

    I would think one of the large port brakes would work(like the Holland)
    If you use sabots or bullets with out patches.

    But you would have to be able to remove it for cleaning each time you
    clean the rifle.

    I havent tried it but it should work.

    J E CUSTOM
    __________________
    "PRESS ON"
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 03-20-2008, 08:31 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2006
    Location: Dayton, Nevada
    Posts: 1,932


    A local gunsmith has done it on a TC Encore. Here is a pic from his site. The holes look big enough to run a small brush in it pretty easy.
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 03-20-2008, 08:41 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2006
    Location: Dayton, Nevada
    Posts: 1,932
    ---------

    Last edited by geargrinder; 03-24-2008 at 05:57 PM. Reason: Can't delete post.
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 03-21-2008, 08:41 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2007
    Location: Mountians of SW NC, near Asheville
    Posts: 1,595
    Sure.
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 03-24-2008, 05:53 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2008
    Location: land of the great lakes
    Posts: 170
    I have a factory encore barrel that is ported. It is no where near as effective as my JP I have on my 300wsm, but you can tell a difference in muzzle rise (not that muzzle rise is a problem, as you dont have a second shot nor can you see the impact through the smoke cloud) so I assume it is working. As to droping powder and seating a bullet, the double ports are at 10 and 2 o'clock and single ports at 4 and 8 o'clock. I have not had any problems lossing powder or bullet seating.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: can you brake a muzzleloader?
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    .32 or .36 cal muzzleloader? bowhunthard Muzzleloader Hunting 3 10-13-2011 09:36 PM
    which muzzleloader ronnie1972 Muzzleloader Hunting 6 06-15-2011 02:36 PM
    Muzzleloader edge Long Range Hunting & Shooting 18 01-02-2007 08:08 AM
    FS .300 RUM and .54 cal Muzzleloader Boman Guns For Sale 11 08-05-2005 09:28 AM
    Where to find a brake like the Serbu shark brake? Kanab Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 1 03-23-2005 07:26 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC