Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Varmint Hunting

Varmint Hunting Techniques For Prairie Dogs, Woodchucks, etc.

Semi-auto prairie dog gun quest

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2011, 06:52 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Semi-auto prairie dog gun quest

I have the 24" Bull Barrel DPMS in 223. It is a genuine .25-.5 MOA consistant performer. I think the bull barrel configuration supports the ability for this rifle to shoot 200 minimum rounds in a session without a loss in accuracy. Also, never had a jam or failure to feed. I have thie DPMS upper mounted on a Bushmaster lower with a RRA Match trigger with a j&P spring kit at 3.5#. I have the 1:9 twist version.

"Let us speak courteously, deal fairly, and keep ourselves armed and ready"-T. Roosevelt
Old 11-17-2011, 10:46 PM
Silver Member

I have a bushmaster varminter I believe. I 've had it for around 8 years it has a ss bbl. that is not fluted or coated. I shot 60gr. v-max's in it. 100 yds is .5-.75 moa and I have confirmed kills out to 900+ yards with it. It is a blast to shoot.

NRA ENDOWMENT MEMBER
Old 11-19-2011, 10:58 AM
Gold Member

Bushmaster, DPMS and Remington are all owned by the same company now and they're all good. Plenty of other good companies out there too. If you want something semi custom look at Doublestar.
You might want to buy 2 of them if you're going after prairie rats. Let one cool while you shoot the other. When the barrel gets to hot to hold, switch guns. I've burnt up a barrel in one day shooting 1200 rounds without switching guns. It went from a .25" gun to a 1" gun. Go with a 26" fluted, ported barrel.
Old 11-23-2011, 08:26 PM
Silver Member