Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Varmint Hunting

Varmint Hunting Techniques For Prairie Dogs, Woodchucks, etc.

Savage 25 Walking Varminter help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2014, 08:03 PM
Silver Member

Savage 25 Walking Varminter help

On my quest for a new .223 varmint rifle I have made a bunch of stops. The latest one is the Savage Walking Varminter in .223. I finally decided on a .223 good bad or indifferent. For me I think it is the way to go. Anyway I am interested in a PD rifle but mostly a groundhog rifle.

I was wondering about the Savage 25 action. I am not a Savage expert so I don't know one action from the other good bad or indifferent.

If you have one what are your thoughts? Most of my PD shots were under 300 yards but I would like to be about to stretch that out a bit. Will this rifle do it? I realize I am the weak link but when I miss I would like to know it was in fact me.LOL Any infer would be great on this rifle.

thanks for the help
Old 02-20-2014, 01:28 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Savage 25 Walking Varminter help

I have owned two Savage 25s; I'd look elsewhere. There are plenty of other rifles in .223 out there for about the same money that are arguably better, e.g.: CZ 527, Howa, Remington 700s, other Savage models; a TC Venture or one of those Varmint ADLs @ Dick's would be more gun at the same or maybe lower price. Or maybe pay a little more for a Tikka.
Just can't recommend this Savage model with a clear conscience.
Old 02-20-2014, 02:17 PM
Silver Member

Thanks

I was also thinking about the 11/111 trophy hunter xp. It isn't much heavier. My concern is being able to shoot multiple rounds without the barrel moving off zero.

Thought about the hog hunter in .223 also. Same action heavier barrel. Mossberg's mvp in .223-5.56 would be great if it will shoot straight. Don't know one way or the other on that one.