Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Varmint Hunting

Varmint Hunting Techniques For Prairie Dogs, Woodchucks, etc.

Pd's in North Idaho?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2007, 01:57 PM
Gold Member

Pd\'s in North Idaho?

Hey guys I'm just getting into varmit hunting and am curious if anybod know's of any areas to hunt pd's or rock chuck in or around n. idaho.
Old 06-03-2007, 02:48 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Pd\'s in North Idaho?

I don't beleive there are any pd's this far west ,probably some belding ground squirrels though.

As far as chucks they're few and far between as i've been told and now believe it.If you know of an agricultural area growing alfalfa that's the place to start especially if there is lava flows/rocky terrain around it.
Throw your rifle/rangefinder/binos over your shoulder and head out ! The worst that can happen is you spend a great day w/a fine rifle outdoors.
Best to ya-Mike
Old 06-03-2007, 05:13 PM
Gold Member

Ya know there's a crap ton of rock chuck's behind my apartment but there's a park next to it. Damn!
Old 06-03-2007, 05:31 PM
Silver Member

I am a N. Idaho native and have lived here the majority of my life. Reality is that N. Idaho has extremely poor quality varmit hunting.

For 5 years I've lived east of the Cont. divide in Montana and you cannot believe the varmits and deer that reside in Montana and Wyoming on the East side of the cont. divide. A varmit shooters paradise.

Gophers, PD's, cottontail, jackrabbit, Deer antelope and chucks and marmots up high in the Beartoothes.

We simply don't have the diversity of species, and open land like the central rocky mountain states, here in N. Idaho. Just a lot of up and down and tons of timber and brush.

Different habitats. Besides, all the land around the C'dA area is all developed up into condos, housing and nothing is like it was when I was a kid. Too many people.
Old 06-03-2007, 05:43 PM
Gold Member