Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Varmint Hunting

Varmint Hunting Techniques For Prairie Dogs, Woodchucks, etc.

Help with Prairie dog equipment

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2012, 11:47 AM
Gold Member

Re: Help with Prairie dog equipment

Thumbs
Take a look at this sight:

portable shooting bench plans

I've been using benches like this for 30+ years. You can't get one any steadier than this and you can build it yourself, if you or one of your buddies can weld the pipe couplings to the plates.

Just screw the legs off for packing into the truck and screw them back on when you set up in the prairie dog town.
Old 06-12-2012, 01:24 PM
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimrodmar10 View Post
Thumbs

I've been using benches like this for 30+ years. You can't get one any steadier than this and you can build it yourself, if you or one of your buddies can weld the pipe couplings to the plates.

Just screw the legs off for packing into the truck and screw them back on when you set up in the prairie dog town.

Thanks for the plans. My problem is with all the getting stuff together the last thing I thought about was a bench. I was originally going to go somewhere that had them but then it turns out to be way more than I can spend. Gotta fine private or public land. Anyway the problem is I thought about it to late. I just don't have the time to build one. I am hoping the tripod will work out.

A good sling is a great thing. Can't get much handier than that.
Old 06-12-2012, 11:03 PM
Gold Member

Quote:
Thumbs

Yep! I have one of those and it is awesome and sturdy too. Best money I spent.
Old 06-13-2012, 01:48 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by meatyrem View Post
Shooting prone is fun too. Cheap carpet and cheap sand bag.