Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Varmint Hunting

Varmint Hunting Techniques For Prairie Dogs, Woodchucks, etc.

Favorite Varmint Cartridge

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2014, 08:35 PM

Re: Favorite Varmint Cartridge

6-284 gets bad rap as a barrel burner keep em clean they aren't bad accuracy is great! I have a Burris 8-32 saving for Nightforce!
Old 01-17-2014, 10:33 PM
Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by North90Bucks View Post
6-284 gets bad rap as a barrel burner keep em clean they aren't bad accuracy is great! I have a Burris 8-32 saving for Nightforce!
Ya I figured they would since your burning all that powder out of that little diameter, but like you said take care of it and it'll work haha! I've never used Burris before but hear good things about them. Personally, I don't think I will ever own a Nightforce, I know everyone... bring on the hate, if I was going to have a battle rifle or something that you can't help not to get it abused then I'd have a Nightforce on it. But for varmint hunting, deer, and packing a rifle in the mountains I really don't need all of that ruggedness. A good Leupold or a Vortex, that I'm going to buy for my current build, is what I will stick with for normal hunting scenarios. The price of the Nightforces is a lot and the only thing that you're getting over the others is the ruggedness. I understand you can get FFP reticles and zero stops, but I don't use those so that's why I don't need a Nightforce. I'm not trying to tick anyone off or hate on Nightforces at all, they are amazing scopes but I will never use it to its max so it's just not for me.
Old 01-17-2014, 11:17 PM