Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Varmint Hunting

Varmint Hunting Techniques For Prairie Dogs, Woodchucks, etc.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2014, 11:18 AM
Platinum Member

Re: .204

I agree. My buddy is finishing up his 260 LRP and needed to do a little shooting and working on LR solutions. I started shooting those balloons and couldn't stop. LOL. The little bullets sure let you know when you have not correctly adjusted for wind. At 500ish a 3 mph wind would change and shift POI 1 MOA/IPHY. That is 5 inches and those balloons are max 7 inches. I still have work to do but I am getting better. The 6.5 makes it way too easy. Wind is not an issue at that range.

What I am learning is that 30 degree plus wind needs to be calculated. Even if the wind is 1 to 2 it needs to be accounted for. On one side of the old road the wind was L to R and on the other side it was R to L. There are draws on both sides and the wind was pushing up the mountain.
Old 01-21-2014, 12:16 PM
Bronze Member

I am trying to get into the 1,000 prairie dog club with a 6.5-284 that I built. Great idea on the balloons, I will need to do that with some wind indicators so I can learn to read the wind better. I get bored at the range and have to deal with all the people, especially when working up loads with a crony. Enjoyed the video. What is a 260 LRP?
Old 01-21-2014, 12:49 PM
Platinum Member

Sorry, 260 Remington in a Savage 12 LRP. My 6.5 is a 6.5-284 Norma in a savage.

I can not shoot at a range. It drives me crazy. I used to shoot just rocks for practice in the mountians and paper for load work up. My wife hates shooting rocks so I built some steel targets and went to walmart and picked up some 7" in balloons and string. Now it is a game for us and changes the whole tempo of the day. She loves it and that of course makes for a happy day. LOL.