Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards

Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards Techniques For Coyote, Fox and Cat Hunting

Wolf or Coyote???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2012, 04:18 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Wolf or Coyote???

I want to make it clear that what I stated is just my opinion. I'm no expert on this, but I know the coyotes up in this north country get big enough when they have a decent food source to be mistaken for wolves. If that picture is in the upper part of NY, maybe there is a chance that some wolves or hybrids have moved down from north of the border. It's too bad we can't see a full picture of the animal in question and that he didn't check the tracks for size. The tracks alone would tell you because a wolf track is huge compared to a coyote.
Old 04-22-2012, 04:56 PM
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topgun 30-06 View Post
I want to make it clear that what I stated is just my opinion. I'm no expert on this, but I know the coyotes up in this north country get big enough when they have a decent food source to be mistaken for wolves. If that picture is in the upper part of NY, maybe there is a chance that some wolves or hybrids have moved down from north of the border. It's too bad we can't see a full picture of the animal in question and that he didn't check the tracks for size. The tracks alone would tell you because a wolf track is huge compared to a coyote.
Topgun,
I know its your opinion and I meant no disrespect in answering another forum member, its a very interesting discussion we are having on this wolf or coyote....
I do value your opinion, on this.
I think i will contact Gary and invite him to this site and maybe he can shed a little more light on this. Maybe he has checked the tracks or has a different picture now.
Old 04-22-2012, 06:30 PM
Platinum Member