Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards

Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards Techniques For Coyote, Fox and Cat Hunting

What's your caliber of choice, for coyotes?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2010, 05:06 PM

Re: What's your caliber of choice, for coyotes?

jd.338, Nice pictures. You must quite the animal trainer to get those rascally coyotes to pose for you in so many different poses. I take my yote pictures with a ruger 77 mark 1 in 6mm rem. with a 75 grain Vmax. Sometimes I use a back up camera that is a stevens in .223 with 55 fmj boat tails. The Vmax is hard on the fur.
Old 12-11-2010, 02:39 PM
Silver Member

Hi Aj,
I am just getting into the Coyote hunt, and am interested in building a rifle. My problem is there is just way too much information out there? I was reading, and interested in the 6x 284. The guys at my club are all over the map, from a 243AI to a 7mm rem mag, and plenty were 22-250 guys? I am new to reloading, and load for my 223 (Stag AR-15) my 45acp, and shotguns for skeet. I don't know what fire forming is, and all of the BC's and other info is way over my head? I'm not wealthy, but I have time to learn, and money to build a nice rifle. Caliber seems to be the biggest factor? If you had to choose A rifle that you could take to Arizona, Colordo, and or Kansas, to shoot dogs, and varmints (prarie dogs in S.D.) to compliment my AR, what would it be? At, or inside 1000 yards max. Oh, and I do have plenty of time to practice, out to 1000 yards. Thanks for your time.
Mike
Old 12-11-2010, 03:29 PM