Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards

Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards Techniques For Coyote, Fox and Cat Hunting

What decoys work

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2011, 07:53 PM

Re: What decoys work

I'm new to this as well. I've been out a few times this winter and haven't had any success. Might try that feather on a stick idea. I like simple and drawing attention away from my position sounds like great advice.

I'm new and patient. And honestly, just enjoy being out in the woods.
Old 12-15-2011, 08:18 PM

The feather on a stick does sound like a neat trick. I also found this Predator Enticer at deer decoy hunting with moving tail and motion predator decoy by Come-Aliove Decoy Products manufacturing and selling from Wisconsin. I don't know if anyone here has tried one, but I ordered one so I will let everyone know how it works for me. I also emailed them asking if the tail wagger would work in a coyote decoy. They seemed eager to work with me to get a working model. Might be a fun little project.

Spending time in the woods is fun and I do enjoy it a lot, but... nothing is better then calling in a coyote or bobcat or a fox. Makes all the hard work worth while. Besides it is no fun getting skunked everytime you go out.

I have a question for all you callers, who like myself, who are in close quarters. I have heard everyone questioning the volume not being loud enough on the electronic callers, but I find myself with the volume very low. I have had better luck with it like this, but I am new to calling. Is any one else doing this or am I missing oppertunities because of the lack of volume?
Old 12-15-2011, 08:41 PM
Silver Member

Why not do both, Typhoon?