Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards

Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards Techniques For Coyote, Fox and Cat Hunting

What decoys work

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2011, 10:27 PM

What decoys work

I am new to preditor calling. I started out using hand calls and I wasn't having much luck. So I switched to an electronic call, but I am still having limited success. I hunt in southern Missouri (Ozark Mountains) so I have a lot of cover to contend with. So I want to try a decoy to help entice them out and was just wondering what has worked for others.
Old 12-12-2011, 10:48 PM
Silver Member

Re: What decoys work

I can't give ya any great decoy advice, but I wanted to say Hi since I'm also in the Ozarks. I live on the eastern side of them.
Old 12-12-2011, 10:54 PM
Platinum Member

The best decoys are real live dogs.

Especially if they're trained right. The ones that are trained correctly will go out and make themselves visible to the coyotes, and then come back in to the shooter.......bringing coyotes in behind them. Big aggressive dogs are not the ticket, we dont' want them running the coyotes off, we want them bringing the coyotes in.

As far as regular decoys go, something that moves is much better than something stationary.

Old 12-13-2011, 04:04 AM
Silver Member

I have used the edge rabbit, the foxpro jack, and a feather on a stick.

So far the best one I have used was the feather on a stick. Hang it from the tree or bruch and let the wind play with it. it will also let you know what way your dogs are going to come in. Most of the time they will come in from the down wind side.

the Fox pro Jack works great also but have not had one jsut make a b-line for it yet. I have had them watch it and circle but that is it.
Old 12-13-2011, 06:18 AM
Platinum Member