Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards

Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards Techniques For Coyote, Fox and Cat Hunting

Rattle snakes while hunting coyotes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2010, 06:41 AM
Platinum Member

Re: Rattle snakes while hunting coyotes

Situational awareness is the key! However, to augment and add another layer of safety, I have been using snake proof type boots since 1992 while hunting in AZ, NM, and now MT. There a little heavy but I have gotten used to it.

Good luck! Happy safe hunting.

Ed

I voted for my "FREEDOM", "GUNS", and "MONEY" - keep the change - UNK.

"I am always proud of my country!"

"Leadership Rule #2: Don't be an @zzhole." - Maj Gen Burton Field.
Old 07-24-2010, 04:37 PM

I have spent the majority of my life studying and even supplementing my income with snakes. I often say that "I know very little about quite a lot, and quite a lot about very little" but this would be an exception to that rule. I can't remember the last time that I "Had" to kill a snake but my memory isn't what it once was. Most snakes (foriegn and domestic) if given the opportunity will look for the back door vs. a confrontation. We have 2 eyes and in the case of rattle headed copper moccasin's, we have 2 ears that will serve you very well about 99% of the time. Also, snakes tend to be most active when the temperature is in the low to mid 80's. That's not to say that if it's 105 you should go stickin your hand under every yucca bush, because that's where they will be. Snakes are very keen on vibration and a walking stick or set of shooting sticks striking the ground heavier than your footsteps will get they're attention quick fast and in a hurry. All of this being said, there are exceptions to every rule so I'm not interested in that one time you had a 3' WDB rear up and stand it's ground like he was at the OK corral.