Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards

Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards Techniques For Coyote, Fox and Cat Hunting

Good/best varmint call

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2009, 08:35 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Good/best varmint call

I have several mouth calls that I use. I have two "Lohman Circe" rabbit calls, a "Primos" howler, a carlton's open reed call, and one jack rabbit call that is so old I cant tell you what it is. These are the ones that I like, because I think that they sound good when I blow them. I have to walk quite aways from the truck and roads here in CA to succesful. That is the reason I like mouth calls. I do not want the extra weight of a electronic caller, when I am already carrying a twelve pound gun and a twenty pound back pack. I am too old to carry a bunch of extra weight. I am no expert, but you asked and this is what works for me. There is guys out there that are alot more successful than I am, and I still have a lot to learn about coyotes.
Old 01-12-2009, 06:37 AM
Silver Member

Varmint calling in my area has become a popular event and many are calling wrong thus educating the yote population. The advantage of my Ecaller is dropping it and being able to hunt distance down wind while controlling the call.

There are some that question the lack of skill involved in pushing buttons. My six year old daughter sounds pretty good on most of my mouth calls with little effort.

And then there is the weight argument. Before the Ecaller I carried several squealers, turkey calls and a horn howler. My Minaska M1 bandit weights minus two pounds and has a hundred calls on the card. Two pounds ends that argument.

If I were to invest in another caller I'd seriously consider the WT line. I like my Minaska but they have been victims of their own success and the wait for a build will be longer than quoted.