Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards

Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards Techniques For Coyote, Fox and Cat Hunting

Best time of year for coyote hunting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2009, 10:34 AM
Silver Member

Best time of year for coyote hunting

I just returned from a trip to northern California, where I had shot several coyotes in past years. The results were.....zip...nada...nothing. I attributed my lack of success in calling them in due to the fact that there were so many cottontails around and, since I am still a novice, that the coyotes just weren't hungry enough to move their butts into shooting range. I was well-camouflaged, used fox urine to cover any scent problems, and just had problems getting them to come in, although I did hear several responses to my calls a long distance away.

The weather was relatively warm, even towards the end of October. The dismal shooting results made me wonder if shooting during cold/snowy weather might make for better shooting, provided that the food sources for coyotes were less available due to those sources hibernating, etc. Any thoughts on the best times of the year for good results, or does cold weather make no difference in how hungry the coyotes are? I shoot in relatively heavy rabbit and ground squirrel country, and know that ground squirrels are active mainly in April and May. They hibernate most of the remaining months, so this leaves rabbits as the main source of smaller game for coyotes...at least where I hunt. If rabbits also hibernate during cold weather or during the winter, I will plan future hunting trips accordingly. Any ideas?
Old 11-01-2009, 11:54 AM
Silver Member

Re: Best time of year for coyote hunting

Up in Montana they are around all year long. The jacks herd up in the winter, but the cotton tails don't.