Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards

Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards Techniques For Coyote, Fox and Cat Hunting

Baiting coyotes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 07:17 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Baiting coyotes

i use rib cages, meat scraps and dog food i use a good bunch to get them coming and once they are coming i will make a meatsicle wich is dog fod, bones and meat scrapes in a five gallon bucket then fill with water and let freez. at my bait they will show up when ever they want. i have had pics of them in the midle of day and all hours of the night. last year i had three that would come in together. my bait was 70 yards from the bait. here are a couple pics from last years.

Old 11-24-2012, 06:14 AM
Bronze Member

I've been baiting yotes for a few years now with some success. The best being a bait behind my house with a motion sensor on it that wakes me up when something is on the bait, (you should try this, your wife will LOVE it!!!)

I think your distance is good, we tried baits at 100- 150 yards and the little @#$%@$# would wind us. When we moved out to 300 yards we would see them crossing the road at 200 yards with their noses up. I find here in Maine deer works best and beaver caracas work great too. If you are hunting in the cold you can freeze bait in water in a 5gal bucket, they cant drag it off and the bird damage will be down a bit, friggen birds eat a lot!. Last year we tried plowing our bait into a snowbank, that worked good too, again the dogs have to work for the bait and cant drag it off into the bushes, keeps them in front of you longer.

Let me know how you do, I like to hear about people putting coyotes through obedience training.... Lay down!!!! Stay..... Good boy....
Old 11-24-2012, 12:48 PM
Gold Member