Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Specialty Handgun Hunting

Specialty Handgun Hunting Techniques For Specialty Handgun Hunting

Handgun Hunting in AZ

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2013, 01:36 PM
Bronze Member

Handgun Hunting in AZ

I was thinking of getting into the handgun game for Javelina and maybe deer sized game. I have a lot of handgunning experience but not with hunting. Mostly with 1911's, Glocks, etc. what calibers and makes and models would you guys recommend and what questions am I not asking?
Old 06-09-2013, 02:45 PM
SPONSOR

Re: Handgun Hunting in AZ

Are you looking to hunt with a revolver or a single-shot handgun?
Distances?
Preferred style(s) of hunting?
Quote:
Originally Posted by augnmike View Post
I was thinking of getting into the handgun game for Javelina and maybe deer sized game. I have a lot of handgunning experience but not with hunting. Mostly with 1911's, Glocks, etc. what calibers and makes and models would you guys recommend and what questions am I not asking?
Old 06-09-2013, 02:49 PM
Bronze Member

I'm not against either SS or revolver at this point. I will likely be glassing and planning stalks on game. I kind of like the TC guns but frankly I don't know why, looks I guess. I used to own S/W .41 mags but sold them all (stupid). Distances I am not in the know on with handgun hunting but I would guess averages are 25-75 yards, again I have never done it.
Old 06-09-2013, 05:39 PM
SPONSOR

If you like the TC's, then Contender/G-2 or Encore?
With the Contender, the 14" 7x30 Waters will give you way beyond 150 yards on deer sized game.
The Encore while heavier will allow you to shoot almost any bottleneck cartridge.
Both action design let you still use straight wall cartridges as well.
Old 06-09-2013, 05:40 PM
SPONSOR

Do you reload?
Old 06-10-2013, 01:45 PM
Bronze Member