Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Specialty Handgun Hunting

Specialty Handgun Hunting Techniques For Specialty Handgun Hunting

7 wsm

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2010, 03:01 PM
Bronze Member

7 wsm

Hey guys, total newbie here when it comes to a specialty handgun. I would like to either build or buy one in a 7 wsm. Was just wondering what my options are ....build on a xp100 or would a guy be able to do something off a savage action, whether it be a short or long action. I do have a left hand long action sitting around and I would be able to load the wsm really long. I am looking at loading the 162 Amax or 180 Berger. Not sure what velocities I would be reaching but will use this for longrange deer and antelope. Thanks a bunch guys!
Old 07-11-2010, 03:50 PM
Platinum Member

Re: 7 wsm

The only way that you could legally build a pistol on your Savage action is for that action to have NEVER been a rifle. A raw action has to be designated as a pistol action when the action is bought on the forms. If you build a pistol on an action that has once been a rifle it will be called a sawed off rifle and that is illegal to have unless you have it registered through the BATF as a sawed off rifle and pay the tax etc. The same as owning a machine gun. You can get a raw action and have it designated as a pistol when bought and you will be OK. There are some on this forum that have done this and have some really nice pistols. 7mm WSM would be a good round but you would need a muzzle brake on it. It would be much easier and cheaper to build off a Savage action and change bolt heads etc. for any caliber you want than to use a Rem XP100 action. With the Savage action you can make a switch barrel set up easy. The possibilities are almost unlimited with the Savage action.
Old 07-11-2010, 07:11 PM
Gold Member