Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Worked up my first 300RUM load

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2008, 09:54 PM
Bronze Member

Worked up my first 300RUM load

Let me start off by saying I am very new to this game. I have been reloading now for a few months and have maybe loaded 100 rounds.

300 RUM
Rem 700 Sendero SFII
Shilen Trigger
Glass Bedded action
DE Brake
Berger 210g VLDs
Retumbo

Started with 87g worked up to 90.5g in .5g increments.

This was my first time really doing it right and I definitely learned a few things!

87 and 87.5 shot fairly well about a 1" group.

88 was all over the place same with 88.5g

89 tightened up and 89.5 was better. 90g was a tad better and finally on my last group of 4 with 90.5 I was able to do this:

This is taken with my cell phone, but it's my best group so far. In the plywood behind the paper there was one large hole.

A few more things I learned....as the sun goes down...it is nice to have a hat. Thankfully, I did. Unfortunately, before I shot I did not cover my left ear with my ear protection. It is still ringing now =(

Secondly, I shot one of the legs off of my chrono about mid way through my second group =(
Old 08-08-2008, 07:12 AM
Platinum Member

Looks pretty good. What are you working up the load for? Hunting? ...

I always mount my targets on cardboard before I leave home, then it's easy to mount them to the backer board, and the holes end up nice and round.

keep at it.

AJ

My mind is a raging torrent, flooded with rivulets of thought, cascading into a waterfall of creative alternatives
Old 08-08-2008, 10:37 AM
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MightyMach View Post
Secondly, I shot one of the legs off of my chrono about mid way through my second group =(