Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Why can't I get a consistant C.O.L.?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2008, 08:10 AM
Silver Member

Why can't I get a consistant C.O.L.?

I just started shooting a 240gr sierra MK out of my 300 win. mag.When I seat the bullet I cannot get a consistant C.O.L.,it varies + or - .005".I am using a Redding competition seater die,so I know my die is not the problem.All of my cases are trimmed to the same size.The wierd thing is,I can load my 110gr v-max's into the same cases and get consistant C.O.L.'s all day long,it's just the MK's that are giving me fits.I have to seat them all long ,and them seat each one with a different setting on my die to get my desired length,what a pain!Any suggestions?
Old 03-15-2008, 08:38 AM
Platinum Member

Just measure a few bullets OAL. I think you will find the main reason your cartridge OAL varies.
Old 03-15-2008, 09:44 AM
Platinum Member

Measure base to ogive and with most of the SMKs you can see the .005 variance right there. That will give you the variance in COL.

Bullet OAL will always vary on most bullets, but the seating die stem goes off the ogive or close to it so that is the reason to measure and sort by base to ogive.

Are you getting a variance in "feel" when seating? if so might have variable neck tension that can inhibit full seating.

BH
Old 03-15-2008, 09:46 AM
Platinum Member

BH beat me to it.
Old 03-15-2008, 10:23 AM
Silver Member

Come to think of it,some do have a different feel.For now,am I doing the right thing by adjusting each one individually to get the same C.O.L.?
Another problem is,some rounds are harder to chamber than others,even though they all have the same C.O.L.,I think some are hitting the lands,and some are not.What should I do?
Old 03-15-2008, 12:25 PM
Bronze Member