Long Range Hunting Online Magazine



Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Berger Bullets

Reply

What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM's?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 02-23-2006, 08:08 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 953
What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

Hello, I just got 500rnds of Federal RUM brass, and am itching to load some of it up. My gun is at the smith getting a holland brake installed, so I wont have it for 3 weeks.

I want it to feed from the mag, (it's a rem 700 cdl)

my nosler book is saying 3.6" OAL, but do you guys load longer than that? i am loading up 180 BT's, some 200 AB's, and some 220 SMK's?

any info would be appreciated..thanks
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Unread 02-23-2006, 08:41 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Western MI
Posts: 718
Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

I load my 338 RUM to 3.650" in my M700LSS.

Regards,

JD338
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 02-23-2006, 08:47 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 2,634
Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

load to whatever the limiting factor is on your own gun. might be the magazine, might be the rifle lands.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 02-23-2006, 08:56 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 953
Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

so you're saying wait till I get the rifle back before loading, so I can check the lands?
I have the magazine so I know that dimention, but the barrel is at the smiths. Don't the factory barrels have the lands set out a ways?

thanks for the inof guys..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 02-23-2006, 11:27 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 93
Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

I was under the impression that the magazine only supports up to 3.6" OAL. I load at 3.65" and I cant fit them into the magazine. I don't have the rifle in front of me as I am at work but i'm pretty sure 3.6 is the max.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 02-24-2006, 09:36 AM
MJF MJF is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 18
Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

I load a 220g SMK at 3.725" Not even close to mag length.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 02-24-2006, 11:08 AM
POP POP is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: CHEYENNE, WY
Posts: 1,474
Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

200 nOSLER ab 3.7"
__________________
"Weatherby was too long so I nicknamed it "Bee""
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM's?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Most Accurate Factory Rifle Factory Ammo Combo tgh97531 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 4 01-08-2010 10:01 AM
Factory factory factory, my LRH rifle silvertip-co Gun Photos 11 09-16-2009 11:24 PM
Quality Brass for RUM's? DixieFreedom Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 6 01-29-2005 02:25 PM
22 cal factory VLD BC''s sscoyote Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 2 09-29-2004 11:14 PM
you guys say the RUM's = heavy recoil eh? hifidelity Long Range Hunting & Shooting 4 11-01-2003 06:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.


All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC