Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM's?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2006, 08:08 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 942
What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

Hello, I just got 500rnds of Federal RUM brass, and am itching to load some of it up. My gun is at the smith getting a holland brake installed, so I wont have it for 3 weeks.

I want it to feed from the mag, (it's a rem 700 cdl)

my nosler book is saying 3.6" OAL, but do you guys load longer than that? i am loading up 180 BT's, some 200 AB's, and some 220 SMK's?

any info would be appreciated..thanks
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 02-23-2006, 08:41 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Western MI
Posts: 716
Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

I load my 338 RUM to 3.650" in my M700LSS.

Regards,

JD338
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2006, 08:47 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 2,625
Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

load to whatever the limiting factor is on your own gun. might be the magazine, might be the rifle lands.
__________________
davesonlinedeals.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2006, 08:56 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 942
Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

so you're saying wait till I get the rifle back before loading, so I can check the lands?
I have the magazine so I know that dimention, but the barrel is at the smiths. Don't the factory barrels have the lands set out a ways?

thanks for the inof guys..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2006, 11:27 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 93
Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

I was under the impression that the magazine only supports up to 3.6" OAL. I load at 3.65" and I cant fit them into the magazine. I don't have the rifle in front of me as I am at work but i'm pretty sure 3.6 is the max.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2006, 09:36 AM
MJF MJF is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 18
Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

I load a 220g SMK at 3.725" Not even close to mag length.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2006, 11:08 AM
POP POP is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: CHEYENNE, WY
Posts: 1,369
Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

200 nOSLER ab 3.7"
__________________
"Weatherby was too long so I nicknamed it "Bee""
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM's?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Most Accurate Factory Rifle Factory Ammo Combo tgh97531 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 4 01-08-2010 10:01 AM
Factory factory factory, my LRH rifle silvertip-co Gun Photos 11 09-16-2009 11:24 PM
Quality Brass for RUM's? DixieFreedom Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 6 01-29-2005 02:25 PM
22 cal factory VLD BC''s sscoyote Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 2 09-29-2004 11:14 PM
you guys say the RUM's = heavy recoil eh? hifidelity Long Range Hunting & Shooting 4 11-01-2003 06:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC