close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Berger Bullets

Reply

What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM's?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 02-23-2006, 08:08 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 953
What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

Hello, I just got 500rnds of Federal RUM brass, and am itching to load some of it up. My gun is at the smith getting a holland brake installed, so I wont have it for 3 weeks.

I want it to feed from the mag, (it's a rem 700 cdl)

my nosler book is saying 3.6" OAL, but do you guys load longer than that? i am loading up 180 BT's, some 200 AB's, and some 220 SMK's?

any info would be appreciated..thanks
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 02-23-2006, 08:41 PM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2005
    Location: Western MI
    Posts: 718
    Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

    I load my 338 RUM to 3.650" in my M700LSS.

    Regards,

    JD338
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 02-23-2006, 08:47 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2004
    Location: Pennsyltucky
    Posts: 2,630
    Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

    load to whatever the limiting factor is on your own gun. might be the magazine, might be the rifle lands.
    __________________
    davesonlinedeals.com
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 02-23-2006, 08:56 PM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2005
    Location: Oregon
    Posts: 953
    Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

    so you're saying wait till I get the rifle back before loading, so I can check the lands?
    I have the magazine so I know that dimention, but the barrel is at the smiths. Don't the factory barrels have the lands set out a ways?

    thanks for the inof guys..
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 02-23-2006, 11:27 PM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: May 2005
    Location: TX
    Posts: 93
    Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

    I was under the impression that the magazine only supports up to 3.6" OAL. I load at 3.65" and I cant fit them into the magazine. I don't have the rifle in front of me as I am at work but i'm pretty sure 3.6 is the max.
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 02-24-2006, 09:36 AM
    MJF MJF is offline
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2005
    Location: So.Cal.
    Posts: 18
    Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

    I load a 220g SMK at 3.725" Not even close to mag length.
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 02-24-2006, 11:08 AM
    POP POP is offline
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2001
    Location: CHEYENNE, WY
    Posts: 1,446
    Re: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM\'s?

    200 nOSLER ab 3.7"
    __________________
    "Weatherby was too long so I nicknamed it "Bee""
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: What OAL in your factory Rem 700, 300 RUM's?
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Most Accurate Factory Rifle Factory Ammo Combo tgh97531 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 4 01-08-2010 10:01 AM
    Factory factory factory, my LRH rifle silvertip-co Gun Photos 11 09-16-2009 11:24 PM
    Quality Brass for RUM's? DixieFreedom Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 6 01-29-2005 02:25 PM
    22 cal factory VLD BC''s sscoyote Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 2 09-29-2004 11:14 PM
    you guys say the RUM's = heavy recoil eh? hifidelity Long Range Hunting & Shooting 4 11-01-2003 06:00 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC