Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

What do you do to prep your Lapua brass?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2013, 09:15 PM
Platinum Member

What do you do to prep your Lapua brass?

I'm new to using Lapua brass basically because the cartridges I have shot and reloaded for did not have Lapua brass available.

So far I'm very impressed with it. I've got 6.5-284 to be necked down to 6mm and 223 Rem. A random sample of each showed less than .001 in length difference. Case mouths visually appear (is that redundant?) to be perfectly round. Pockets seem to be very square and uniform. No dents or apparent irregularities in 400 pieces of brass.

I have deburred the flash holes, not sure if necessary. I have also squared and uniformed the pockets, not sure if necessary.

I plan to load the 223 brass without sizing because it looks ready for loading and because I do not yet have a sizer for it.

What do you do and don't do before you start seating bullets?

You will never know how much it has cost my generation to preserve your freedom. I hope you make good use of it.
~ John Quincy Adams
Old 06-12-2013, 06:02 AM
Platinum Member

Re: What do you do to prep your Lapua brass?

Too bad Lapua doesn't make brass for all our chamberings. If they did it would be all I would buy.

I always size the necks to be certain they are round and will have the neck tension I want to use.

I have found the flash holes don't need to be touched. Do uniform primer pockets.

If I know I am going to use Lapua brass I specify a no turn neck reamer.