Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Thoughts on Dillon Equipments

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2013, 06:37 PM
Gold Member

Re: Thoughts on Dillon Equipments

its top shelf stuff. Ive been using there product for over 20 years. NOBODY stands behind there products any better. But I have to agree with the others here a progessive is more for an experience loader. A beginner should start out of a single stage press and as to shotgun loading unless you shoot 300 rounds a week your going to be well served by a mec at a fraction of the price of a progressive dillon shotgun loader.
Old 03-28-2013, 09:15 PM
Silver Member

IMHO, start with a single stage. You will always need a single stage on your reloading bench anyway. IMHO - Rock Chucker or Forster CoAx (once you have a CoAx, anything else is inferior).

Dillon - Customer service, IF needed, is none better. They set the pace.....period.

I started with a used 550B 7 years ago. Bought a 450 (father to the 550B - non removeable die plate) for $100 5 years ago (upgraded the auto primer feed and auto powder, but kept the solid head press), and, two weeks ago, bought another 550B.

The 450 only loads 223 AI - that is the rifle round I shoot the most.

One 550 is set up for small primer and the other is set up for large primers.

If you can buy one for cost, don't turn it down, but load a couple thousand rounds on a single stage first....there is a learning curve.

...and...don't forget....learning about reloading is never ending.
Old 03-29-2013, 04:13 PM
Gold Member

Dillon makes great equipment - and their guaranty is second to none. Go with their basic, single stage press to begin with. If you like it, marry the girl and ask for a progressive as a wedding gift.
Old 03-29-2013, 05:47 PM
Silver Member