Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

For those of you that use a NECO concentricity gauge or similar style...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2013, 07:25 PM
Gold Member

For those of you that use a NECO concentricity gauge or similar style...

I'm in the market for a concentricity gauge. I am brand new to reloading so it's hard for me to see what makes a particular piece of equipment better than the next. After researching it seems enough of you recommend the NECO that I am thinking of buying it. There are some that allow you to correct a cartridge with to much runout right there on the concentricity gauge but not the NECO. It seems that would be very convenient so if you use a NECO or similar product how do you correct runout? Is the Hornady model junk? Obviously some of you think the NECO is more accurate, I'm already sold on that but just have no experience so I don't know how I would correct runout if I choose to buy the NECO??? Thanks for helping a newbie!
Old 12-04-2013, 04:32 PM
Silver Member

Re: For those of you that use a NECO concentricity gauge or similar style...

I went with the hornady because I wanted the ability to straighten loaded rounds.
My chrono tells me that if i straighten one that is more than .004 runnout my ES is lower on that round. Therefore neck tention is compromised.
What I have learned is that if I have more than .003 runnout stop and identify and fix the problem rather than straighten.
That being said I think there are probably more precise gauges (neco) that I could have bought.
Old 12-04-2013, 04:49 PM
Platinum Member