Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

THA thing you did to your ammo to help your precision is ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2013, 08:35 PM

THA thing you did to your ammo to help your precision is ?

Hi.
I'm not doing to good with my reloads... I am also fairly new to this addiction ;-)

maybe some of you more experimented reloaders here could share with me and others what really made the big difference in their ammo ....

what would you say was the most important thing you did to your reloads (not to your rifle plz) to help your grouping

things that come in mind:

getting better cases
weighting the case
neck turning the case
neck sizing only ( obviously)
interior neck reaming
neck tension
primer choice
more accurate scale
better dies
better seating die
playing with OAL
crimping
polishing the chamfer
deburing primer hole

etc etc etc

what single action did you do to your ammo that evening to get that big smile on your face at the range that day , when you finally realized what was it you were doing wrong or omitting ?

I am not looking for being a F class champion, I just want to feel good about my reloads and have a close to .5 inch group with my tikka t3 varmint in 25-06. At this time I have only reloaded about 200 shells in various powders , OAL, primers, bullets; and I get a lot of flyers... on a group of 5 , I often get 1 or 2 holes touching, but then the flyers... I end up at 1" to 2"....

thanks for your time and knowledge.

stef
Old 02-26-2013, 08:41 PM
Silver Member

Re: THA thing you did to your ammo to help your precision is ?

Hate to tell you this but.. it's not one thing. It's when you get it all right that it works. Oh , no crimping !
Old 02-26-2013, 08:48 PM
Silver Member