Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

Testing loads 100 or 200yds?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2009, 11:28 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 65
Testing loads 100 or 200yds?

When testing load development for the lrh rifle, what distance is the best to test at, 100 or 200 yds?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2009, 12:52 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,654
Re: Testing loads 100 or 200yds?

I'll give you my opinion I was told to start at 100 and as soon as it looked like I had a decent load move out to 200 yrds this information come from a guy that shoots 1000 matches . I have noticed that what I though was a good load @ 100 was not that good the further I moved out now I have a load that measures .318 @ 200 yrds and it's ready for some play time at extended ranges.Good luck.

Big Buck
__________________
"Molon Labe"
IN DIXIE WE DON"T CALL 911 !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2009, 01:53 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 3,833
Re: Testing loads 100 or 200yds?

I do a ladder at 300, get my data and choices from there, then test loads at 300. Everything through a chronograph and EVERYTHING documented and recorded.

I find it far more accurate and easier in the long run to do it at 300. The only difference in 300 and 100 is the additional 200 yard walk but if the targets and testing is set up right, it's not that big a deal.

Just my $.02
__________________
ss7mm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2009, 02:36 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Alaska
Posts: 3,227
Re: Testing loads 100 or 200yds?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ss7mm View Post
I do a ladder at 300, get my data and choices from there, then test loads at 300. Everything through a chronograph and EVERYTHING documented and recorded.

I find it far more accurate and easier in the long run to do it at 300. The only difference in 300 and 100 is the additional 200 yard walk but if the targets and testing is set up right, it's not that big a deal.

Just my $.02
Agreed. The only reason I might start at 100 or 200 yds is if your shooting location is windy the day you have to shoot. I would then wait for a low to no wind day and shoot at 300. I find it easier to detemine if the load is going to be a winner at 300 yds. POIs are expanded 3X on target.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2009, 03:14 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,654
Re: Testing loads 100 or 200yds?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phorwath View Post
Agreed. The only reason I might start at 100 or 200 yds is if your shooting location is windy the day you have to shoot. I would then wait for a low to no wind day and shoot at 300. I find it easier to detemine if the load is going to be a winner at 300 yds. POIs are expanded 3X on target.
POI's are expanded 3x on Target your exactly right that's why instead of wasting powder/primers/bullets exc. I shoot 100 then 200 then inter it into exbal and bust targets with less wasted ammo
__________________
"Molon Labe"
IN DIXIE WE DON"T CALL 911 !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2009, 03:21 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 334
Re: Testing loads 100 or 200yds?

What exactly is the ladder method? I have heard it used before, but can't find anything saying exactly what it is. Sorry for the newbie question.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2009, 08:37 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,325
Re: Testing loads 100 or 200yds?

I do my load development at 200, everything over the chrono as well. I think you learn more faster at the longer range. I would do 300yrds, but the range that I use is only 200yrds.

I started using the longer range for load development a couple years ago. I had a rifle built, did load development at 100yrds after all the break in shooting was done. Needless to say I was disappointed with the results. The rifle was holding just under 1", and I was expecting better. For what ever reason, I decided to shoot it at 200yrds, it held the same group. The same load held less than 5" at 1000yrds.

My point is, if I had not shot that load at 200yrds, I may have shelved the load.

Good shooting,

Steve
__________________
To hunt... or not to hunt...? What a stupid question.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Testing loads 100 or 200yds?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100 Vs. 200 Yds. which is better for testing loads while reloading? Prairie Dog50 Reloading 7 12-17-2010 03:15 PM
Testing some .308 loads jkward Reloading 1 04-23-2010 11:03 PM
Testing new loads. Merlin Long Range Hunting & Shooting 3 03-18-2009 08:05 PM
testing loads - lead sled v.s. shoulder 270fan Reloading 4 08-23-2008 10:05 AM
How would a 22LR work on Pdogs out to 200yds or so? milanuk Long Range Hunting & Shooting 7 03-13-2003 12:56 AM

Current Poll
Spot & Stalk or Ambush For Western Deer?
MOSTLY - Spot & Stalk - 74.18%
928 Votes
MOSTLY - Ambush - 25.82%
323 Votes
Total Votes: 1,251
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC